CATEGORY 7 (Featuring OVERKILL, ARMORED SAINT, EXODUS & ex-MACHINE HEAD Members) Unleashes Music Video For New Song “Exhausted”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Category 7, is the new band featuring vocalist John Bush (Armored Saint), guitarists Phil Demmel (Kerry King, ex-Machine Head) and Mike Orlando (Adrenaline Mob, Sonic Universe), bassist Jack Gibson (Exodus), and drummer Jason Bittner (Overkill, Shadows Fall). Their self-titled debut full-length will be released on July 26th through Metal Blade Records.

The band has unleashed today their latest single, “Exhausted,” which features the blazing twin lead guitar assault of Demmel and Orlando, a punchy riff, and hammering thrash beats that climax with another unforgettable chorus.

Comments Bush, “Insomnia happens more frequently as I’ve aged. Usually in connection with nightly visits to the loo. The frustration of just slumbering and dreaming only makes matters worse. This is all a little exaggerated for me ’cause people truly struggle with this, using medication or whatever remedy will hopefully solve the problem. Truth be told, my primary goal is to avoid all those deep dark thoughts in the middle of the night that seem to grow because I just can’t sleep. Zillion? Mr. Cooper.”

With veteran musicians from so many legendary bands, it’s hard not to think of Category 7 as a supergroup. “I think we’re pretty super,” jokes guitarist Phil Demmel, who has earned mega-metal cred over the decades as a member of Machine Head, Vio-Lence, Kerry King, and has also played as a fill-in road guitarist for Slayer, Lamb of God, Overkill, and others. “Really, I feel like this is a band, not a side project. And I feel like we have written this incredible piece of music, and we’re not done. I’m so proud of the way this came together and the people who were involved. And I think we all feel super positive about this and what else we can do with it going forward.”

Category 7 has created an album that is fresh and familiar. The mixture of NWOBHM, thrash, punk-metal, and traditional metal is cohesive and sonically rewarding, establishing an eclectic musical backdrop for vocalist John Bush’s instantly identifiable vocals. At the same time, the diversity of styles creates its own template that’s ideal for headbanging, moshing, and voluble sing-alongs.

“It’s all about big verses and big songs, and it has a lot of the elements we’ve explored in our other bands,” explains guitarist and main songwriter Mike Orlando.

“Category 7” Album Artwork

The origins of the band began with discussions between Demmel and Orlando of their mutual desire to form a twin lead guitar hard rock unit harkening back to bands of the ‘70s such as Thin Lizzy. Bittner was next to join the conversation followed by Gibson. After composing some early music, it was obvious that the only vocalist that would fit the concept would be Bush

Notes BushMike Orlando’s and Phil Demmel’s awesome riffs made writing lyrics over the music a piece of cake. The rhythm tandem of Bittner and Gibson rounded out the sound and the connection felt like it was put together in the stars. Obviously, everyone being a veteran of the metal scene made it that much easier.”

“Category 7” was produced, engineered, mixed, and mastered by Orlando at Sonic Stomp Studios with art and layout by Carlos Fides at Artside Studio (Angra, Evergrey, Kamelot). The record can be pre-ordered on CD and digital formats as well as vinyl in the following color variants:

  • Storm Surge (US + EU) 
  • Sable Smoke (EU – Ltd. 300)

Category 7″ Track Listing:

  • In Stitches
  • Land I Used To Love
  • Apple Of Discord
  • Exhausted
  • Runaway Truck
  • White Flags & Bayonets
  • Mousetrap
  • Waver At The Breaking Point
  • Through Pink Eyes
  • Etter Stormen

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: This content is copyrighted!