AYREON Announces Release Of “01011001 – Live Beneath The Waves” Album, Watch Music Video For ‘The Sixth Extinction’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

An Ayreon live event is not just any concert. It’s a monumental occasion where the highest-caliber musicians and an enormous production come together to forge a bombastic spectacle. The rarity of these shows only adds to their uniqueness. In September 2023, Arjen Lucassen‘s “01011001 – Live Beneath the Waves” sold out five performances at Poppodium 013 in Tilburg, The Netherlands.

Today, Ayreon is excited to announce the release of this concert on 3LP, 2CD+DVD, Blu-ray, Earbook, and digital formats on 17 May, through Music Theories Recordings / Mascot Label Group. Indulge in a taster with the first live video of “The Sixth Extinction” below.

Pre-order “01011001 – Live Beneath the Waves” HERE.

This live production, based on the critically acclaimed 2008 concept album “01011001,” was performed in its entirety, followed by a number of encore songs. The stage came alive with an imposing backdrop, LED screens showcasing fantastic visuals, lasers, pyrotechnics, special effects, and a unique live surround sound experience – a setup that would be at home on Broadway or London’s West End.

Arjen Lucassen reflects on the show: “When I wrote the 01011001 album back in 2007, it was never meant to be played live. So I could make it as complicated as I wanted with countless instrumentalists and no less than 17 singers! When we considered playing this album live, I really didn’t think we could do it and find the right musicians to bring this album to life. But… it appears we did, the crowd seemed to really enjoy themselves! I’m so proud of everyone involved. “More is More” was the credo of these shows. I think we kept our word!”

Ayreon mastermind Arjen Lucassen, alongside keyboardist Joost van den Broek, assembled a remarkable lineup, featuring many original cast members from the “01011001” album and various special guests such as Simone Simons (Epica), Damian Wilson (ex-Threshold), Anneke van Giersbergen, Jonas Renkse (Katatonia), Tom Englund (Evergrey), Daniel Gildenlow (Pain of Salvation), Marcela Bovio (MaYan), Brittney Slayes (Unleash the Archers), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), John Jaycee Cuijpers (Praying Mantis), Maggy Luyten (Beautiful Sin), Michael Mills (Toehider) and Wudstik, among other incredible musicians.

“01011001 – Live Beneath the Waves” Artwork

The band featured top instrumentalists from the genre – Ed Warby (Drums), Johan van Stratum (Bass), Timo Somers (Guitar), Marcel Coenen (Guitar), Joost Van Den Broek (Keyboards) and more. The enigmatic Lucassen himself made an appearance, marking this as the largest cast in Ayreon‘s live show history, which is no mean feat. “Live Beneath the Waves” vividly brings to life the water planet Y, immersing audiences in this technological underwater world. 

Arjen says about the show: 01011001 is one of my favorite Ayreon albums, and putting this show together was really exciting and rewarding. When I first approached the cast and crew via email, messaging, etc., within minutes I got back the most heartwarming and enthusiastic reactions. Everyone was excited about helping me bring the album to life..” Head producer Joost van den Broek adds, “This live production raised the bar even higher for us in all aspects and made the most impressive and epic show yet. The album 01011001 has a very specific sound and feeling that we had to translate to the stage as well as possible and as grandiose as possible.”

The opening song “The Age of Shadows” showcases eight incredible singers, perfectly introducing the show and setting the tone for the musical journey to come. What follows is a mesmerizing ride, so buckle up and enjoy your stay on Planet Y!


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!