ATREYU Announce New Album “Baptize” Out June 4, Shares Two new Songs ‘Warrior’ and ‘Underrated’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

California metallers ATREYU  have announced their new album “Baptize”, out June 4 via Spinefarm Records. Pre-order it here.

The band has shared not one but two brand new songs from the record: “Warrior” (featuring BLINK-182 drummer Travis Barker) and “Underrated”. Check them out below. The tracks arrive five months after the release of “Save Us”, which was the first taste of the band’s music since the departure of vocalist Alex Varkatzas in September.

“‘Warrior’ is song about persistence and never giving up,” the band shares. “We hope this song can be the puzzle piece that helps people realize that we ALL have the capacity for greatness. Sometimes, greatness can exist in the shadows and lives buried under negativity, trauma, or anxiety. ‘Warrior’ is about searching through all of that endless darkness to finally find the sunrise.”
ATREYU  continues, “When we wrote ‘Warrior,’ the idea to do a big marching drum break came about. We wanted it to feel like a hometown football game. Travis Barker was the perfect person to bring this to life. It’s cool to have him be a part of the song and to perform in a different light than what people may be used to.”

About “Underrated,” the band says, “We’ve always had to prove ourselves. We’ve never been handed anything nor have we taken any shortcuts. It’s never been ‘the easy way.’ Over two decades later, we’re still making our mark.”

“Baptize” Album Artwork

“Baptize” Tracklisting:

  1. Strange Powers of Prophecy
  2. Baptize
  3. Save Us
  4. Underrated
  5. Broken Again
  6. Weed
  7. Dead Weight
  8. Catastrophe
  9. f**ked Up
  10. Sabotage Me
  11. Untouchable (Feat. Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach)
  12. No Matter What
  13. Oblivion (Feat. Matt Heafy of Trivium)
  14. Stay
  15. Warrior (Feat. Travis Barker)

ATREYU spent the first couple of months of 2020 working on material for its eighth album with producer John Feldmann, who previously helmed 2018’s “In Our Wake” and 2007’s breakout LP “Lead Sails, Paper Anchor”.

In August 2019, ATREYU released a deluxe edition of “In Our Wake” via Spinefarm Records. The new version featured the original “In Our Wake” album, along with seven additional tracks. The bonus material included B-sides from the sessions for both “In Our Wake” and 2015’s “Long Live”, along with alternate versions of the title track and “The Time Is Now” from “In Our Wake”. The deluxe edition featured completely redesigned artwork and a total of 19 songs.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!