AVATAR’s JOHANNES ECKERSTRÖM Talks New Album “Dance Devil Dance”: ‘We Wanted a Sonically Angrier Rock n’ Roll Album with Dirt Under the Fingernails”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

AVATAR is here to save heavy metal with their latest metal tour-de-force record, “Dance Devil Dance”, due out on February 17th via Black Waltz Records.

AVATAR are known for their high-intensity heavy metal, juxtaposed with devilish narratives designed to raise the hair on your arms and scare the shit out of you. “Dance Devil Dance” lives up to that reputation while blending well-crafted guitar, powerful vocal, and sheer brute force metal. This new release is a powerfully cohesive and diverse album that reflects the talented musicianship of Johannes Eckerström [vocals], Jonas Jarlsby and Tim Öhrström [guitars], Henrik Sandelin [bass], and John Alfredsson [drums].

The band exhumed 11 songs deep from the Swedish woods for this new release. Together they added some finishing touches to create a broader, richer, and sonically powerful sounding album than ever before. Songs that provide a pummeling mix of high energy and the macabre. AVATAR has the unique talent of taking pure angst and turning it into an irreverent celebration of all things dark and malevolent. Songs like “The Dirt I’m Buried In” and the title track, “Dance Devil Dance,” do precisely that. Others like “On the Beach” and “Gotta Wanna Riot” jump out of the speakers with their big grooves, memorable riffs, and intriguing lyrical messages. If you are looking for a love ballad, well… look somewhere else! “Dance Devil Dance” is a fresh, vibrant, and addictive album destined to be their best! Pre-orders can be found HERE and tickets for their shows can be found AT THIS LOCATION.

Contributor Robert Cavuoto spoke to Johannes Eckerström about the importance of musical diversity since early in the band’s career, their desire to create the most sonically powerful album, and why the music must work with your eyes closed before adding theatrics. Johannes shares that wearing make-up is a liberating experience, not a persona, and provides a glimpse of what US fans can expect from the band’s set-list.

Watch or listen to their all-encompassing conversation below and remember that for more interviews and other daily content, Sonic Perspectives is on Facebook, Flipboard, Twitter and YouTube, where you can be notified about new content we publish on a daily basis.

“Our new album is designed to make you move and to move you,” says Eckerström. “We destroyed all doubt with ‘Valley of Disease.’ We blew the competition off the mountain with ‘Dance Devil Dance.’ Now the world is ours, and yours with us. The stage is set all that’s left to do is give in and join the circus. This is ‘The Dirt I’m Buried In.’ You are welcome.”

The album will be released in multiple vinyl configurations. The configurations can be seen below.

Clouds Dipped in Chrome Super Deluxe Vinyl: Includes: Metal O-Card with embossed Avatar emblem. 2 pocket silver board gatefold vinyl with platinum Dance Devil Dance vinyl. 24 page photo book. Autographed 5×7 Postcard.

Clouds Dipped in Chrome Super Deluxe Vinyl

Hazmat Suit Deluxe Vinyl: Includes Embossed Gatefold with 3 color A SIDE / B SIDE Dance Devil Dance vinyl, Five 11×11 Photo Prints of each band member w/lyrics, Autographed 5×7 Postcard.

Hazmat Suit Deluxe Vinyl

Dance Devil Dance Standard Vinyl: Includes: Embossed gatefold jacket with red opaque Dance Devil Dance vinyl, Five 11×11 Photo Prints of each band member.

Dance Devil Dance Standard Vinyl

“Dance Devil Dance” Tracklisting:

  1. Dance Devil Dance
  2. Chimp Mosh Pit
  3. Valley Of Disease
  4. On The Beach
  5. Do You Feel In Control
  6. Gotta Wanna Riot
  7. The Dirt I’m Buried In
  8. Clouds Dipped In Chrome
  9. Hazmat Suit
  10. Train
  11. Violence No Matter What (Duet w/ Lzzy Hale)

“Dance Devil Dance” was recorded in the Swedish wilderness, far away from all the perceived glamor of the big city and modern studios. Jay Ruston (ANTHRAX, MR. BUNGLE, CROBOT, STONE SOUR, AMON AMARTH, URIAH HEEP) returned as producer. He first worked with AVATAR when he mixed “Hail The Apocalypse”, a role he reprised on “Feathers & Flesh” before taking the wheel as producer on “Avatar Country” and “Hunter Gatherer”.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!