WHOM GODS DESTROY (Featuring DINO JELUSICK, DEREK SHERINIAN & BUMBLEFOOT) Shares Music Video For Debut Single “In The Name Of War”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Whom Gods Destroy, the formidable new progressive-metal group formed by keyboardist Derek Sherinian, guitarist Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal, and vocalist Dino Jelusick, along with the potent rhythm section of bassist Yas Nomura and drummer Bruno Valverde, have shared the initial salvo from their upcoming debut album “Insanium”, to be released in March 15th, 2024 via Inside Out Music.

The first taste of music from Whom Gods Destroy comes via the music video for “In The Name Of War”, directed by renowned director Vicente Cordero from Industrialism Films.

“Insanium” can be pre-ordered/saved AT THIS LOCATION.

Bumblefoot commented about “In The Name Of War” as follows: Derek, Dino and I began writing this song in 2020, it was the first song we wrote together. This song captures a lot of what the band is about, it’s a good example of what to expect from the album. The song gets pretty intense when the band kicks in, an unexpected contrast, the music tells the story alongside the lyrics – the Eastern scale melody in the chorus followed by the ‘war drum’ pattern, the bridge feeling like it’s heading toward something, an urgency…”

The album features 9 compositions accompanied by a bonus track for 60 minutes of intensity, barely giving the listener time to catch their breath. The opening track and first single “In the Name of War” is a tour de force that showcases the full spectrum of what this band offers, from the opening classical piano to the thunderous guitars, commanding drums, and resonant bass, to the incomparable vocal prowess of Jelusick, who says the track contains his “favorite lyric on the album.”

While the musicianship throughout the album might be untouchable, the lyrics are very relatable and personal. Jelusick describes “The Decision” as a song about giving up but reflecting on the past and realizing it’s worth giving it one more try and being grateful for all the good things that happened along the way. While a song like “Find Our Way Back” is about coming back home and realizing it’s not a home anymore. Relatable for many people on the road.

“Insanium” Album Artwork

“Insanium” tracklist:

  1. In The Name Of War
  2. Over Again
  3. The Decision
  4. Crawl
  5. Find My Way Back
  6. Crucifier
  7. Keeper Of The Gate
  8. Hypernova
  9. Insanium
  10. Requiem (Bonus Track)

Sherinian and Bumblefoot have built upon the creative link they developed as two of the key elements of supergroup Sons of Apollo and now set their sights on a new path with Whom Gods Destroy, who is getting ready to present the musical odyssey that is their debut opus,
Bumblefoot explains how Whom Gods Destroy got started: Derek & I began writing new music in 2020.  Soon after, Dino joined, followed by Yas and Bruno. We’d share ideas, and each record parts, building and rebuilding songs, and by June ’23 the album was finished. The songs all went through a lot of changes, developing…you can definitely hear what each person brings to the music – when it adds up, it’s a mix of melody and intense heavy prog.”
Working with powerhouse vocalist Dino Jelusick, as well as Yas Nomura and Bruno Valverde, they knew they were building something special, says Bumblefoot“These guys are all just mind-blowing…! I’ve known Dino for a few years, we did a collab song a few years ago…his voice is just magic. He’s one of the greatest singers out there. Bruno & Yas are downright frightening, there’s no limit to what they can do, WTF…! And all great guys to hang with.”
Sherinian agrees, “All three of these musicians are super talented with great energy. I think Dino is the real deal. Ron and I knew that we could do something great with him.”
Jelusick expresses his excitement as well, “What I love about this band is that it doesn’t have any limits. It came together back in 2020 when we started talking about it. Yas and I started working separately not knowing we were both asked to do this. Bruno was the last piece of this puzzle and I’m glad the recommendation came from me. Love this line-up. Derek and Ron are wizards.”


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!