Watch METALLICA Playing Their Longest Song To Date, “Inamorata”, Live For The First Time

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Metallica ignited the stage at Olympiastadion in Munich, Germany, for the second show of the 2024 leg of their “M72” tour on Sunday night, May 26. This concert marked the second of the band’s “No Repeat Weekend” shows in Munich, offering fans a unique setlist each night.

The night’s performance was particularly special as it featured the debut tour performances of “Hit the Lights” and “Breadfan,” much to the delight of the audience. The setlist comprised 16 songs spanning nine albums: “Kill ‘Em All” (1), “Ride the Lightning” (4), “Master of Puppets” (1), “…And Justice for All” (2), “Metallica” (2), “Garage Inc.” (1), “S&M” (1), “Hardwired…to Self-Destruct” (1), and “72 Seasons” (3). A highlight of the night was the first-ever live rendition of “Inamorata.”

“Inamorata,” the closing track of the “72 Seasons” album, is now the longest Metallica song to date, with a runtime of 11 minutes and 10 seconds. Frontman James Hetfield shared insights into the song’s lyrics with Metallica‘s So What! fan club magazine, stating, “That whole song, you know, misery as my mistress, and I’m trying to hide her. I enjoy her at certain times, but I don’t want the world to know about her. I don’t want to introduce her to the world because it’s not okay. So misery as a mistress, it does serve a purpose in my life, but I don’t want it to be my life, and I’m tired of it running my life.”

Bassist Robert Trujillo also reflected on the song’s bass breakdown, saying, “I believe James had a vision of having this sort of Sabbath-y, ‘Geezer-esque’ moment where the bass is sort of a naked moment, here’s this beautiful-yet-dark statement coming from the bass guitar. It feels raw, but at the same time it’s got this dark beauty to it.” Trujillo described the song’s essence as reminiscent of driving along the Pacific Coast Highway, evoking a sense of freedom and natural beauty. He continued, “When it gets down to that breakdown, it’s just this raw, beautiful moment, and I was closing my eyes, channeling every note.”

This was the night setlist:

1. Creeping Death
2. Harvester Of Sorrow
3. Hit The Lights
4. Ride The Lightning
5. 72 Seasons
6. If Darkness Had A Son
7. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
8. Inamorata (Live Debut)
9. The Call Of Ktulu
10. No Leaf Clover
11. Wherever I May Roam
12. Moth Into Flame
13. Fight Fire With Fire
14. Breadfan (Budgie cover)
15. One
16. Enter Sandman


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!