THE COLD STARES Reveal Video for New Song ‘Prosecution Blues’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Indiana duo The Cold Stares will release their new album “Heavy Shoes” on 13th August via Mascot Records / Mascot Label Group (Black Stone Cherry, Crobot, Monster Truck). Today they release the fourth track from this record called ‘Prosecution Blues’. Watch it below.

Earlier this year they also released videos for ‘In The Night Time’ as well as ‘Hard Times’ and ‘Heavy Shoes’ 

About the new song ‘Prosecution Blues’ Christopher Tapp (vocals, guitar) shares: “Prosecution Blues was an opportunity to tip our hat to some of our heavy Blues influences. I always loved the way that Zeppelin used a Blues as a vehicle to insert metaphors and say things lyrically that were poetic and deeper than the surface layer. That’s what we tried to do with Prosecution Blues, and also take that vehicle on a spin through streets that were familiar to us.”

The band’s story alone would be enough for a drama series – cancer, suicide, betrayal, divorce, loss, self-identity crisis, survival, and ancestral skeletons. Write about what you know, they say.

There’s a richness running through the songs with dark, multi-layered narratives that course through every twist and turn. Dirty fuzzed-up rock and roll meet blues, garage, desert rock and a Southern Gothic sensibility. Sombre storytelling is etched into their songs with unflinching honesty. For Chris Tapp and Brian Mullins, authenticity is their hallmark.

Recorded largely at Sam Phillips Recording Studio, Memphis – with the remaining at their studio in Indiana – this Memphis vibe has seeped into the record. How could it not – the music, the history, the people, the Mississippi river. Mixed by Mark Needham (The Killers) and mastered by Andy Vandette (Beastie Boys/Smashing Pumpkins), “Heavy Shoes” is their heaviest record yet.

“Heavy Shoes” Tracklist

1. Heavy Shoes
2. 40 Dead Men
3. Take This Body From Me
4. Hard Times
5. In The Night Time
6. Strange Light
7. Prosecution Blues
8. It’s A Game
9. Save You From You
10. You Wanted Love
11. Election Blues
12. Dust In My Hands
13. Hard Times


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!