SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE Releases Cover of PHIL COLLINS’ “Another Day In Paradise”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

During these trying and unsure times, Israeli progressive metal outfit SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE presents an all-star tribute to Phil Collins‘s classic “Another Day In Paradise.”

SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE‘s rendition of “Another Day In Paradise” is dedicated to fighting the COVID-19 music industry crisis, and includes performances from more than twenty leading participants, all from the contemporary Israeli metal and rock scene, including members of Orphaned Land and more.

Together, these talents coalesce into a bold, Middle Eastern, symphonic-rock-themed song that calls for unity in this time of crisis. The track comes in the form of a video clip which features the entire band and their massive cast of guests performing the track from their own respective homes.

Using the cover to revive the culture and music scene in Israel after months in quarantine and without live performances since March due to COVID-19, the band writes, “Israel at the moment is ranked as one of the most COVID-19-inflamed countries in the world, as well as facing a large political war with hopes to change the face of the nation. This song is bringing all of us together, keeping culture alive and calling the metal community to support each other and its artists, a message of peace, diversity, and mutual respect.

From March 2020 all shows are cancelled in Israel and the Israeli metal musicians are not allowed to enter the EU to tour and earn their main livelihood from European live shows. SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE is dedicating this song to all of the musicians out there losing their jobs, to all of the people out there fighting for a change and to all of the audience out there – stay safe stay metal and hopefully see you soon!”

SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE‘s “Another Day In Paradise” all-star team includes the full band lineup – vocalist Davidavi Dolev, keyboard player Shai Yallin, bassist Golan Farhi, drummer Jonathan Amar, and the triple guiar attack of Tomer Pink, Or Shalev, and Omer Fishbein – as well as guest vocalists Alon Karnieli (Sinnery), Noa Gruman (Scardust, Hellscore), Lev Kerzner (Oceans On Orion), Oz Avneya (Obsidian Tide), Bruno Passy (Dog For A Son, Vessel), Israel Papa (Unleash The Pain), Dor Rosental (Ma’anish), Dorin Hajon (Zad), Adi Bitran (Orpheus Blade), and guest instrumentalists Idan Amsalem (Orphaned Land) on bouzouki, Daniel Sassi (Storchi, Yossi Sassi Orchestra) playing flutes, Yuval Gur (Avadon) providing violins, and Alexandra Marcu (Tillian) on cello.

SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE‘s lead vocalist Davidavi Dolev has also joined the cast of a revolutionary metal video game, Of Bird & Cage. The singer was invited to dub a leading voice role in the game, joining forces together with singers Kobra Paige (Kobra & the Lotus) and Danny Warsnop (Asking Alexandria), as well as instrumentalists Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (Sons Of Apollo, ex-Guns N’ Roses), Rob Van Der Loo (Epica), Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation), and many others.

Dolev, Being a relatively new face in the international metal scene, plays the main antagonist’s role Bress Lupus, a dark character with malicious intentions and a twisted sense for justice. The trailer for the game and the list of artists involved were unveiled during Gamescom, the world’s biggest gaming convention, by the Israeli Indie Company Capricia Productions and Polish publisher All In. 

These new developments come as SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE prepares to release their new full-length, “Mountain Fever,” in early 2021, their first release for new label home, US-based Sensory Records.

Their fourth LP, and sixth overall release, “Mountain Fever was recorded between Golan Heights to Fascination Street Studio (engineered by David Castillo) and mixed by Jens Bogren (Leprous, Katatonia, Opeth). Here, SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE continues pushing the balance between pioneering experimentalism to their own take on modern pop culture and its manifestation in the Middle East. Revealing an album comprised of African and Balkan brass sections, Arabic violins, extended vocal techniques, and several special guest appearances, the band explores radio friendly hooks that emerge out of heavy riffs and polychromatic arrangements.

Watch for an official release date for “Mountain Fever” to be announced alongside full audio samples and much more over the coming months.


  • Davidavi (Vidi) Dolev  / Vocals
  • Tomer Pink  / Guitars
  • Shai Yallin  / Keys
  • Golan Farhi  / Bass
  • Or Shalev  / Guitars
  • Omer Fishbein  / Guitars
  • Jonathan Amar  / Drums 

Follow SUBTERRANEAN MASQUERADE online: Website | Facebook


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!