STRYPER Releases Official Music Video for New Single “Transgressor” from Upcoming Studio Album “The Final Battle,” Scheduled to Release on October 21

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Legendary Christian heavy metal rockers STRYPER have released their latest single “Transgressor” today,  off their forthcoming album “The Final Battle” that is set for release on October 21st, 2022.

“Transgressor” follows the successful release of first single “Rise To The Call,” and second single “See No Evil, Hear No Evil” both of which have received praise from press and fans alike in the buildup of the groups forthcoming album. This new album was produced by front man Michael Sweet, and firmly continues the trend established over the band’s last few albums, even somehow managing to beat its immediate predecessors, “No More Hell To Pay” (2013), “Fallen” (2015), “God Damn Evil” (2018), and “Even The Devil Believes” (2020), continuing the band’s unprecedented latest career streak of releasing arguably the best albums of their multi-decade career. “The Final Battle” sees the band growing heavier while also maintaining their trademark melodies, virtuoso guitar playing, and air tight rhythms.

Fans can pre-order  “The Final Battle” HERE.

 “The Final Battle” will be released on CD, 2xLP, and Digital formats, with multiple limited edition color variants of the LP available, along with exclusive merch drops on both Stryper’s and Frontier Music’s websites. (More info below)

 “The Final Battle” was crafted during the most challenging time of the band’s career. But rather than let the adversity get them down, the band accepted these challenges and channeled it into writing some of the greatest songs of their storied career. One of those great songs is the band’s latest single “Transgressor” off of “The Final Battle”. When asked about this new single STRYPER front man Michael Sweet said, “Transgressor is a ride like no other. You take off at 100 MPH and it doesn’t let up until the very last note. It’s definitely one of our heaviest songs yet we wanted to incorporate melody and structure. We’re really excited about this one and we can’t wait to perform it live!”

When it comes to groundbreaking bands in the metal genre, STRYPER is renowned for their distinctive brand of “heavenly metal,” extraordinary crossover success, and venerable endurance. The group ascended to prominence in the 1980s with Billboard Top 40 hits like “Calling on You,” “Honestly,” and “Always There for You” and has maintained a global fan base since. STRYPER’s career album sales exceed 10 million worldwide, including 1986’s multi-platinum release “To Hell with the Devil.” The band also made history when it notched two songs simultaneously on MTV’s Top 10 with videos “Free” and “Honestly.” While STRYPER is known for their Christian faith, their decades plus career in heavy metal has made them much more than just a ‘Christian metal’ band. Sure, that is part of who they are, but at the end of the day, they are simply a long-running and well respected heavy metal band with a late-career rebirth that has proved their enduring talent and musical skills are well intact.

Today, some 37+ years after emerging from the southern California nightclub scene, STRYPER continues to record, tour and perform for loyal fans around the globe. With three original members including brothers Michael Sweet (lead vocals, guitar) and Robert Sweet (drums), Oz Fox (guitar) and newest band-mate, seasoned bassist Perry Richardson (formerly of Firehouse), the group finds itself creating their finest, most powerful music yet. Stay tuned to STRYPER’s socials below for updates on the release of more singles in the buildup to the release of The Final Battle as well as upcoming tour dates from the legendary metal group.

“The Final Battle” Album Artwork

 “The Final Battle” Track listing:

1. Transgressor
2. See No Evil, Hear No Evil
3. Same Old Story
4. Heart & Soul
5. Near
6. Out, Up & In
7. Rise To The Call
8. The Way, The Truth, The Life
9. No Rest For The Wicked
10. Til Death Do Us Part
11. Ashes To Ashes

Exclusive Vinyl/ Merch:

  • Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl – STRYPER Store Exclusive – Limited to 1200 Copies
  • Limited Edition Red Vinyl – Frontiers U.S. & EU Webstores Exclusive – Limited to 600 Copies
  • Limited Edition Crystal Vinyl – Frontiers U.S. Webstore Exclusive – Limited to 300 Copies
  • Limited Edition Yellow Marble Vinyl – U.S. Indie Store Exclusive, Available to All Retailers in EU – Limited to 1700 Copies
  • Standard Black Vinyl – Available Worldwide
  • The STRYPER webstore – Exclusive merchandise
  • The Frontiers U.S. & EU webstores – Exclusive t-shirt design

When “Rise To The Call” was first released, Sweet commented: “Although we have faced many obstacles over the past few years, we were somehow able to rise above everything that stood in our way and deliver (what I believe to be) our strongest release to date. Our new album encompasses everything that defines who we are: faith, guitar power, melodies and harmonies, consistency and longevity. We still have so much left to say musically and lyrically and this album showcases that. We couldn’t do it without the fans worldwide. Those who have stood by us through it all, for almost 40 years! We’re so honored and blessed to be able to release our 14th studio album and to be making the best music of our lives/careers. Against all odds, we’re still here.”

In December, Sweet stated about the musical direction of STRYPER‘s new material: “Lots of riffs, grooves, up tempo and mid tempo and everything has a great feel to it. I’ve only sent music to the guys so they haven’t heard any melodies yet but the melodies are strong and powerful. It’s always a little strange talking about your own music but I can say that I’m really excited about the direction of this album! I know you will be too. We’ve tuned down to D so the tuning makes it all sound a little fatter and heavier. There are a few songs with the low E string dropped down another step (C) so those songs have a bit more meat and potato’s as well;-) There are a few ballads but they’re not your typical ‘piano’ or ‘acoustic’ ballads. They’re heavy as well and definitely guitar driven. Even though there have been obstacles along the way, this album really has shaped up to be an amazing piece of work,” 

After being on a hiatus for much of the ’90s, STRYPER returned stronger than ever in the early 21st century. Musically, the band has progressed and grown their fan base steadily and continuously, being one of the few “classic” metal bands of the ’80s that managed to keep themselves front and center thanks to the consistency of their musical output.

Michael is joined in STRYPER by his brother Robert Sweet (drums), Oz Fox (guitars) and Perry Richardson (bass).

Last March, STRYPER and Frontiers Music Srl announced that they have extended their working relationship for the release of more new studio albums together.  STRYPER and Frontiers originally joined forces in 2013 for the release of “Second Coming”, an album comprised of new recordings of 14 songs from the band’s early years, as well as two brand new songs. What followed has been a string of critically and commercially successful studio albums, including “No More Hell To Pay” (2013), “Fallen” (2015), “God Damn Evil” (2018) and “Even The Devil Believes” (2020). Additionally, a live album and long-form video, “Live At The Whisky” (2014) was made available. Every one of the albums released on Frontiers in the past eight years has successfully charted on the Billboard 200 chart and topped the Hot 100, Rock, Hard Rock, Current and Christian Music album charts.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!