STEVE HACKETT Shares First Single ‘People of the Smoke’ From Upcoming Album “The Circus and the Nightwhale”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Legendary rock guitarist Steve Hackett is set to release his new studio album “The Circus And The Nightwhale” on February 16th, 2024, via InsideOut Music.

A rite-of-passage concept album with a young character called Travla at the centre of it, “The Circus And The Nightwhale’s” 13 tracks have an autobiographical angle for the musician who says about his 30th solo release: “I love this album. It says the things I’ve been wanting to say for a very long time.”

Hackett is pleased to reveal the first single, and the albums opening track, ‘People of the Smoke’, commenting about the track: “’People of the Smoke’ spins us all back in time to 1950, when bustling post-war London was stifled with smog from trains, chimneys, industry and smokers. I was born into that world! This song kicks off an album following my life’s journey both literally and metaphorically…”

The new album is available to pre-order on several different formats, including a Limited CD+Blu-ray media book (including 5.1 Surround Sound & 24bit high resolution stereo mixes), Standard CD Jewel case, Gatefold 180g Vinyl LP & as Digital Album. All feature the stunning cover painting by Denise Marsh. Pre-order now AT THIS LOCATION.

“The Circus And The Nightwhale” is Steve’s first new music in over two years. Recorded between tours in 2022 and 2023 at Siren studio in the UK, with guest parts beamed in from Sweden, Austria, the US, Azerbaijan and Denmark, the line-up for the album includes some familiar faces alongside Steve on electric and acoustic guitars, 12-string, mandolin, harmonica, percussion, bass and vocals. Roger King on keyboards, programming and orchestral arrangements, Rob Townsend on sax, Jonas Reingold on bass, Nad Sylvan on vocals, Craig Blundell on drums, and Amanda Lehmann on vocals. Nick D’Virgilio and Hugo Degenhardt return as guests on the drum stool, engineer extraordinaire Benedict Fenner appears on keyboards and Malik Mansurov is back with the tar. Finally, Steve’s brother John Hackett is present once more on flute.

“The Circus And The Nightwhale” Track-listing:

  1. People Of The Smoke
  2. These Passing Clouds
  3. Taking You Down
  4. Found And Lost
  5. Enter The Ring
  6. Get Me Out!
  7. Ghost Moon and Living Love
  8. Circo Inferno
  9. Breakout
  10. All At Sea
  11. Into The Nightwhale
  12. Wherever You Are
  13. White Dove

Summing up about the album, Steve says: “It’s a lovely journey that starts dirty, scratchy and smoky and becomes heavenly and divine. How can you resist it?”

Steve recently completed his North America Tour where he continued his ‘Foxtrot At Fifty + Hackett Highlights’ run. Next year he will tour the world extensively, including a brand newUK tour ‘Genesis Greats, Lamb Highlights & Solo’, which will see him return to the legendary Royal Albert Hall. For the full list of dates, click HERE.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!