SOEN Release Single & Video for “Fortune”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Today, the engaging, enchanting, cutting, yet beautiful Swedish metal super-group Soen have released the live video for “Fortune”. The track is taken from the forthcoming release “Atlantis”, out via Silver Lining Music on November 18, 2022. Watch the video below.

Musically, “Fortune” is epically heavy with its crushing riffs and percussion, yet delicate with haunting vocal phases and an outstanding guitar solo, all whilst carrying a poignant story and message.

Founding members Martin Lopez and Joel Ekelöf comment: “‘Fortune’ is a song about getting beaten up by life, falling down again and again, but getting back up regardless. In this specific case, it is about seeing a loved one face the obstacles that you have faced, letting them know that things will eventually get better and that you have got their back no matter what.”

Filmed and recorded on December 10, 2021, Martin Lopez (drums & percussion), Joel Ekelöf (lead vocals), Lars Enok Åhlund (guitars & piano), Cody Lee Ford (lead guitar) and Oleksii “Zlatoyar” Kobel (bass) worked together with an 8-piece orchestra to reinterpret and rediscover fresh energy and elements in classic Soen songs, such as “Antagonist”, “Monarch”, “Jinn” and “Lucidity”, as well as introducing a stunning interpretation of Slipknot’s deeply dark meditation on darkness rejecting love, “Snuff”.

The end result of this eighty minute performance is some remarkable new aural refractions of Soen’s greatest material for fans to absorb and enjoy. As has always been the way with Soen: the deepest dives yield the greatest treasures.

“Atlantis” Album Artwork

“Atlantis” Track List:

2. Lunacy
3. Monarch
4. Trials
5. River
6. Jinn
7. Illusion
8. Modesty
9. Lucidity
10. Savia
11. Fortune
12. Snuff (SLIPKNOT cover)
13. Lascivious
14. Lotus

“Atlantis” was recorded by David Castillo and Iñaki Marconi, mixed by Castillo, and mastered by Tony Lindgren. The performance was filmed and directed by George Layc**k from the bespoke British production house Blacktide Phonic/Visual.

“Atlantis” will be available as a DVD-CD with bonus footage, a double 12” limited edition vinyl, long form video, digital download and streaming. Pre-orders available HERE

The additional orchestral musicians and contributors on “Atlantis” are:

  • Stefan Stenberg: Double Bass
  • Joakim Simonsson: Piano and Organ
  • Karin Liljenberg: Violin 1
  • Andreas Forsman: Violin 2
  • Erik Holm: Viola
  • Cecilia Linné: Cello
  • Johanna Börjesson: Vocals
  • Therése Börjesson: Vocals

Technical support: Dan Wahlbeck
Drum tech: Rickard Gustafsson
Sound support: Niclas Lindström

With no sign of slowing down, the relentless metal quintet recently announced a twenty date North American Tour, kicking-off at Chicago’s Lincoln Hall; the tour will also see Soen perform as special guests of Katatonia in Dallas and Austin on December 6 and 7.

The North American dates follow shortly after the 2021 rescheduled Imperial European Tour that Soen postponed due to the restrictions surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic at the time. The European dates include the opportunity for an unforgettable and intimate evening with Soen at their sole premiere live acoustic show taking place at Zoetermeer’s De Boerderij on September 30. The band are excited to be on the road again and have added fourteen new dates in Europe and the United Kingdom.

“It’s a dream come true to finally be able to do an extensive North American tour,” enthuses Lopez. “It’s a milestone for any band to tour a continent with such a rich musical history and we are very excited about finally getting to meet our North American audience. See you all there!”

All purchased tickets remain valid for the rescheduled dates and tickets remain on-sale. Full list of confirmed dates, tickets, and additional information available HERE


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!