SMASHING PUMPKINS Announces New Album “Shiny And Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun.” For Next November

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Formed in Chicago, Illinois in 1988, acclaimed alternative rock luminaries THE SMASHING PUMPKINS released their heralded debut album, Gish, in 1991 and found mainstream success with 1993’s four-times-multi-platinum Siamese Dreamand 1995’s 10-times-platinum Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness. Today the band has announced their new LP “Shiny And Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun.”. Recorded at Shangri La Studios with legendary producer Rick Rubin, the LP is the band’s first in over 18 years to feature founding members Billy Corgan, James Iha, Jimmy Chamberlin, with longtime guitarist Jeff Schroeder.

“Shiny And Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun.” will be released will on November 16 on Billy Corgan‘s own Martha’s Music under exclusive license to Napalm Records via a strategic worldwide partnership. THE SMASHING PUMPKINS today also released the LP’s second single, “Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)”. The track is available to stream and download starting today. Watch a lyric video for the track, featuring Corgan‘s handwritten lyrics, below. The band also just finished shooting a music video for “Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)” with Billy Corgan as the director.

“Shiny And Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun.” track listing:

  1. Knights of Malta
  2. Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)
  3. Travels
  4. Solara
  5. Alienation
  6. Marchin’ On
  7. With Sympathy
  8. Seek And You Shall Destroy

THE SMASHING PUMPKINS recently sat down with Zane Lowe for an exclusive interview on Beats 1 on Apple Music to discuss reuniting, their new LP, touring together for the first time in 18 years, and more. Tune in to hear the conversation in full on Monday, September 17 at 10:00 a.m. PST.

“”Shiny And Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun.” Album Artwork

Earlier this summer, the newly reformed lineup shared the first glimpse of their new music with the LP’s lead single “Solara”. “Solara” is available now to stream and download now via all digital services. The track’s dreamlike music video was directed by Nick Koenig and expands on the theatrics of the band’s catalog of iconic music videos.

Last week, THE SMASHING PUMPKINS wrapped their monumental “Shiny And Oh So Bright Tour”, which sold over 300,000 tickets across North America and sold-out arenas, including The Forum, United Center, and Madison Square Garden. Produced by Live Nation, the tour was the band’s first in nearly two decades to feature Corgan, Chamberlin and Iha, alongside Schroeder, bassist Jack Bates and keyboardist Katie Cole.

This fall, the band will perform in London, United Kingdom, and Bologna, Italy, before returning to Chicago, Illinois for a special 30th-anniversary series performance for WKQX‘s “The Nights We Stole Christmas”


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!