SKILLET Reveals Lyric Video For New Single ‘Standing In The Storm’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Multi-platinum rockers Skillet‘s new studio album, “Dominion” will be released on January 14, 2022. Their 11th studio project, it follows Skillet‘s amazing track record of two RIAA certified multi-platinum albums, two Gold Albums, five RIAA certified multi-platinum singles, and four gold singles.

SKILLET‘s latest single, “Surviving The Game”, the first from “Dominion”, has made a strong debut, already accumulating over 6.5 million streams. Its music video has been viewed over 2.7 million times, and has seen some great sport sync usage, including a recent MLB hit. Now, their second instant grat track, “Standing In The Storm” is available upon pre-ordering “Dominion”. Fans also have access to a lyric video for “Standing In The Storm”, which swirls around the key line “I’ve still got some life in me”, culled from one of Korey Cooper‘s journals. Watch it below.

SKILLET front-man John Cooper comments: “We’re getting older, our kids are getting older, and the world is falling apart, so there’s a part of me that’s like, ‘Do you really want to go back on the road in the midst of a pandemic?’ Do we want to keep this business going? Then, she showed me this passage in her journal. I was really impacted. I started to think, ‘Yes, there’s a lot of crazy things going on, but I’m not done.'”

The album, produced by Kevin Churko (Ozzy Osbourne, Papa Roach, Disturbed) with songs written by John Cooper, Korey Cooper, Kevin Churko and Kane Churko, was created 100% remotely between the band’s tour dates, home studio in Wisconsin, and the Churko’s studio in Las Vegas.

“Dominion” is about the celebration of freedom, a liberation from fear – to be who we want to be, say what we want to say, believe what we want to believe,” Cooper says. “In some ways it’s a reminder of the God-given rights that we were born with. It’s time to regain some sort of control over our lives and not be a slave to fear. I hope this record is going to make people feel empowered, inspired, uplifted and want to rock their faces off!”

Yesterday, in advance of “Surviving The Game’s” release, Atlantic Record‘s President of A&R Pete Ganbarg and the band’s A&R rep, Andy Karp hosted Skillet for a performance and Q&A about the track, which Ganbarg describes as, “Pure anthemic Skillet – a song that speaks to the unprecedented times we’re all facing with the ferocity that has been the band’s trademark for over two decades.  It’s a fierce, welcome return.”

Cooper describes the track as as, “A defiant song about not giving in to the fear that the world is and has been experiencing. This song brings a feeling of survival; you have to do what you need to do in order to get your life back; a defiance against fear and the things that want to hold you down – for so many that’s depression, isolation, lonelieness, suicidal thoughts, etc. This song is about becoming the person you are meant be and coming out on the other side of all the madness.”

Earlier today, the band premiered the track’s music video, following a live video chat. Shot in the expansive desert outside Los Angeles last month, the video is made up of a mixture of high energy band performances alongside a storyline where a young kid rules the land, entraps the band and they have to fight through pain and fear to make it out alive. Watch the video below.

“Dominion” tracklisting:

  1. Surviving The Game
  2. Standing In The Storm
  3. Dominion
  4. Valley Of Death
  5. Beyond Incredible
  6. Destiny
  7. Refuge
  8. Shout Your Freedom
  9. Destroyer
  10. Forever Or The End
  11. Ignite
  12. White Horse

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!