EPICA’s SIMONE SIMONS Shares Music Video For Solo Album Second Single “In Love We Rust”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Epica‘s singer Simone Simons will release her debut solo album, “Vermillion”, on August 23 via Nuclear Blast Records. The music video for the LP’s second single, “In Love We Rust”, which was also co-written by Dutch songwriter, singer, musician, and record producer Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon) can be watched below.

Simone & Arjen comment: “The video was filmed in just one take to keep it as pure and raw as possible. We opted to keep it in black and white so as not to distract from the song or the performance. ‘In Love We Rust’ is quite different from our first single Aeterna, which shows how diverse this album is. This is one of our favorite songs. We hope you love this as much as we do.”

Pre-order and pre-save “Vermillion” AT THIS LOCATION.

Arjen is no stranger to Simone‘s soaring operatic voice, one that can stir even a gargoyle’s stone heart to tears. Together they have crafted a sonic universe that befits the influential figure she is. “Vermillion” emerges as a gargantuan goose-bump generator, a universally touching, stellar tour de force.

For more than 20 years, ever since she was a teenager, Simone has been spearheading the world of female-fronted metal. As a lead singer, icon, and role model for a whole generation of female metalheads, the Epica lead singer remains one of the most prominent key figures in all things metal. After eight albums and countless global tours with her band, Simons finally found the time to release her first solo album, “Vermillion”, showcasing her many different influences ranging from prog rock to film scores to metal to electronic elements.

Simone chose not to rush her solo project, opting instead to thoughtfully consider how she wanted to present herself. Enter stage right Arjen Lucassen. Her musical partner and longtime collaborator is no stranger to her soaring operatic voice. While many would use their solo effort as a radical, even provocative departure from everything they stood for, Simone remains true to her love for epic melodies, huge choruses, and monumental, intelligent music.

“Vermillion” Album Artwork

“Vermillion” track-listing:

1. Aeterna
2. In Love We Rust
3. Cradle To The Grave (Featuring Alissa White-Gluz)
4. Fight Or Flight
5. Weight Of My World
6. Vermillion Dreams
7. The Core
8. Dystopia
9. R.E.D.
10. Dark Night Of The Soul


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: This content is copyrighted!