SATAN Celebrates the Release of “Earth Infernal” with Video for “The Blood Ran Deep”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

NWOBHM veterans SATAN have released their sixth studio album, Earth Infernal”, via Metal Blade Records on April 1, 2022. The album has been lauded by press with calling it “razor-sharp, intelligent, and passionate heavy metal of the highest order” and “[it]is the best metal I’ve heard thus far in 2022.” Listen and watch to hear what all the fuss is about with the video the track “The Blood Ran Deep,” below.

Order Earth Infernal” HERE.

On the tracks lyrics, the band explains, “Wherever you care to look around the world, you’ll find conspiracy theories and millions of people who actually believe in them. The denial of science is a very dangerous trend. In itself it is nothing new, but lately there’s been a significant increase in the number of followers who’ve now given up on proven fact and are ready to believe that 2+2 = 5 if it suits their purpose. Trust in authority is at an all-time low. Our world is on the brink of sliding into chaos unless people wake up and start to have faith in the smartest human beings on the planet. Established expertise must win the day or we are finished as a species.

Earth Infernal” is a product of the times that birthed it, and could only be the work of SATAN. Having churned out cutting edge heavy metal throughout the 80s – and reunited in 2011 – their sixth full-length maintains the high standard they long ago set, and it is perhaps their timeliest release. “For two years the world has been preoccupied with politics and pandemics and while we were all looking the other way our planet has continued to get hotter,” says guitarist Russ Tippins. “Our Earth is now infernally hot. Almost irreversibly so. We are on a one-way trip to Hell and dragging our children along with us. Yes, SATAN has something to say about global warming.

Over three years of development went into Earth Infernal”, describing the record succinctly as ‘brutal, up tempo, loud guitars‘, it is classic SATAN but sounds fresh and new, the band experimenting a little. “Steve (Ramsey, guitar) and I had been talking for a while about playing some of our dual leads in unison rather than in harmony – which is our normal method. And sure enough, the trusted twin harmonies are still in abundance on this record, but two of the songs have us playing lead in unison, like Rossington and Collins‘ solo in “Free Bird.

I believe that our current writing and subject matter are only too relevant to what is going on in the world today,” concludes Tippins. With touring plans in the works, SATAN fans will get a chance to hear Earth Infernal live in the not-too-distant future, and perhaps more importantly SATAN will continue to spread the important message at the heart of the album.

Earth Infernal” will be available in the following formats:

• Special Edition LP housed in a slipcase (w/ hot foil embossing) incl. slipmat, patch and huge die-cut sticker (EU excl.)
• Digipak-CD
• firefly glow marbled (US excl.)
• 180g black vinyl (EU excl.)
• light yellow marbled vinyl (EU excl., ltd. 700)
• orange red brown marbled vinyl (EU excl., ltd. 500)
• copper brown marbled vinyl (EU excl., ltd. 300)
• ochre brown marbled vinyl (EU excl., ltd. 200)
• clear slate grey marbled vinyl (Metal Blade Shop excl., ltd. 200)
• dark goldenrod marbled vinyl (Bandcamp excl., ltd. 200)

Earth Infernal” Track Listing:

 1. Ascendancy
 2. Burning Portrait
 3. Twelve Infernal Lords
 4. Mercury’s Shadow
 5. A Sorrow Unspent
 6. Luciferic
 7. From Second Sight
 8. Poison Elegy
 9. The Blood Ran Deep
10. Earth We Bequeath

SATAN Line-up:

  • Brian Ross / Vocals
  • Russ Tippins / Guitar
  • Steve Ramsey / Guitar
  • Graeme English / Bass
  • Sean Taylor / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!