RED DRAGON CARTEL to Release Sophomore Album “Patina” Next November 9th, Video For New Single ‘Havana’ Streaming Now

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

After a self-imposed exile from the music industry and the public eye, heralded guitarist Jake E. Lee (Ozzy Osbourne, Badlands) returned with a fresh new band, RED DRAGON CARTEL in 2014.  Now, Jake and RED DRAGON CARTEL are back with their new album “Patina“, which is set for release November 9th via Frontiers Music Srl. The follow-up to RED DRAGON CARTEL‘s eponymous 2014 debut, “Patina” marks the group’s first release with drummer Phil Varone (SAIGON KICKSKID ROW) and bassist Anthony Esposito. The band’s current lineup is rounded out by singer Darren James Smith.

RED DRAGON CARTEL‘s new album was recorded at Esposito‘s Obscenic Arts studio in Dillsburg, Pennsylvania and was reportedly mixed by legendary producer Max Norman, who has previously worked with OZZY OSBOURNEMEGADETHSAVATAGE and LOUDNESS, among others.

In addition to being the new bassist for RED DRAGON CARTELEsposito co-produced the album alongside Lee“I think we had a great production partnership,” says Jake. “He never discouraged me from trying things that were a bit outside the box; in fact, he encouraged it. His attention to detail in the recording of everything was exceptional. Much more than I alone would have toiled over. He has an incredible work ethic that kept me from lapsing into complacency. If we disagreed on how something should be, we’d find a perfect marriage of the two sides, or completely reimagine it. We didn’t settle on anything unless we both agreed it was perfect. If I do another album, I’d love it to be with him again.”

Another new member to RED DRAGON CARTEL is drummer Phil Varone, whose style Leereally appreciated. Phil is a very solid and groove-oriented player, who is not afraid to turn things upside down to give the song a more unique flavor,” explains Lee.

“Patina” Album Artwork

“Patina” marks a change of style from the debut RED DRAGON CARTEL album, featuring a more bluesy hard rock direction as opposed to its predecessor’s heavier leanings. Lee says: “The first album was more of a piecemeal production with some of the song ideas being 10 years old and never having more than one player in the room at any time. I wanted to do this one from scratch with all the songs originating and worked on with everyone in the room, on their instruments. It felt much more organic, like the way I used to do it for the first 20 years of my career — more honest to my roots.”

When asked about his musical inspirations for the record, Jake says: “My inspirations for ‘Patina’ are from the artists I loved during my youth. Robin TrowerSantana, BLACK SABBATHCAPTAIN BEYONDTHIN LIZZYGRAND FUNK RAILROADDavid Bowie… I could go on and on, but let me also say that there are also hints of SLY & THE FAMILY STONEDick Dale, psychedelia and even some George Benson. Don’t let any of that scare you — it all makes sense!”

“Patina” is a definitive statement of Jake‘s unbelievable skills with a monster production from Esposito and a perfect mix, courtesy of Norman, whose relationship with Jake dates back to the guitarist’s days with OZZY OSBOURNE.

The track listing for the disc is as follows:

1. Speedbag 
2. Havana 
3. Crooked Man 
4. The Luxury Of Breathing 
5. Bitter 
6. Chasing Ghosts 
7. A Painted Heart 
8. Punchclown (bonus track) 
9. My Beautiful Mess 
10. Ink & Water

The official music video for “Havana” can be seen below. Pre-order “Patina” on CD/LP/Digital and stream the single here.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!