Ritual Doom Metal Act FRAYLE Release Bewitching New Video For “Treacle & Revenge”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

As Frayle continues getting the masses ready for the onslaught of their anticipated new albumSkin & Sorrow”, out July 8 via Aqualamb Records, now the Cleveland-based ritual doom metal act have released a new single “Treacle & Revenge” accompanied by a bewitching video full of beautifully cryptic cues and hazy effects that will appeal to both goth and horror fans.

Starting off with the sludgy guitars of Sean Bilovecky, frontwoman Gwyn Strang begins with an ethereal whisper before devolving into a full-on tempered scream that accentuates the song with an intense energy that beckons the audience to listen in closely.Watch the video below.

Says Strang, “’Treacle and Revenge’ is about the heartbreak and pain caused by those who attempt to deceive us. We have all experienced that person who whispers sweet nothings only to find that their words meant nothing.”

The new album Skin & Sorrow” was fully written and recorded by Bilovecky and Strang from the third floor of their Cleveland home, on the edge of town, surrounded by ancient lakes and woods that echo the howls of coyotes. The band is rounded out live by Jason Knotek on bass and Jon Vinson on drums.

The record follows Frayle’s groundbreaking debut 1692 in 2020 that further introduced the world to their penchant for creating “lullabies over chaos.” Tracks feature Strang’s ambient vocals laid over the voluminous instrumentals of Bilovecky (formerly of Disengage), morphing into disturbing harmonies best described as music for the night sky and are poised to dominate the doom circuit.

In addition to haunting original tracks that push heavy music into new dimensions (an inspirational mix of Sleep and Portishead, or Black Sabbath and Bjork), the duo is known for their cryptic covers including takes on Johnny Cash’s “Ring Of Fire” and Bauhaus’ “Bela Lugosi’s Dead.”

Their passioned creations have caught the attention of Revolver which named the band “one of the five artists you need to know in April”, and called their previously-released title track “eerie and ethereal for its first half, but slowly lets more crunchy fuzz into the fold that builds up to a detonating finish with gobs of spiritual atmosphere.”

Recently, Frayle signed to The Oracle Management, now part of the roster that also includes Cradle of Filth, DevilDriver, Jinjer, Wednesday 13 and more hard rock and metal acts all represented by co-owners of The Oracle Management Dez and Anahstasia Fafara.

In one of the first orders of business, Frayle has joined on for Cradle of Filth’s “Existence Is Futile” Headlining Tour, on the off dates from COF’s trek with Danzig. Running through June 11, it hits 17 cities across North America – full details are below.

Skin & Sorrow” Track-listing:

  1. Treacle & Revenge
  2. Bright Eyes
  3. Skin & Sorrow
  4. Ipecac
  5. Stars
  6. Roses
  7. Sacrifant
  8. All The Things I Was
  9. Song For the Dead
  10.  Perfect Wound

Presales for Skin & Sorrow” are available now at Aqualamb Records’ website with iridescent, metallic blue, metallic turquoise and metallic violet vinyl variants, CD and digital options. Additional Europe only vinyl variants will be coming via Lay Bare Recordings. Each purchase comes with an accompanying 100-page book filled with lush artwork, drawings, lyrics and additional content to get inside the mind of Frayle and the creative process.

Frayle is offering the first tastes of the new music on their tour with Cradle of Filth. Remaining dates are as follows:

  • 5/29 Calgary, AB @ The Palace Theatre
  • 5/30 Saskatoon, SK @ Coors Event Centre
  • 6/1 Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
  • 6/2 Joliet, IL @ The Forge
  • 6/3 Flint, MI @ The Machine Shop
  • 6/4 Toronto, ON @ The Opera House
  • 6/6 Montreal, QC @ Corona Theater
  • 6/7 Quebec City, QC @ Imperial
  • 6/9 Albany, NY @ Empire Live
  • 6/10 New Haven, CT @ Toad’s Place
  • 6/11 Harrisburg, PA @ HMAC

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!