Listen to RAY ALDER Third Single “My Oblivion”, Off Sophomore Solo Album “II”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Following the fantastic feedback for the first solo album by Fates Warning vocalist Ray Alder “What The Water Wants” back in 2019, Inside Out Music recently announced the upcoming worldwide release of the follow-up effort “II” on June 9th, 2023. Today Ray has revealed the third single from the album, entitled “My Oblivion”. Stream it below.

Ray Alder comments about the track: “For this song I imagined a sort of anti-hero who is doing what he does best, lay waste to everything in his path. I guess it’s my homage to action/revenge type movies. I felt the music needed something like this story. Heavy and dark but with an edge… I think Mike and Craig did an incredible job on this one.”

Once again, just like for the “What The Water Wants” debut, the new album was written with guitarists Mike Abdow (Fates Warning touring member) and Tony Hernando (Lords Of Black) – who both also performed bass guitar on their own songs –, features drummer Craig Anderson (Ignite, Crescent Shield) and was mixed by Simone Mularoni (Rhapsody, Michael Romeo, DGM). Ray Alder’s second album is simply entitled “II”, but in musical terms this is a much more revealing, exploratory piece of work than its predecessor.

“II” Album Artwork

Ray Alder checked in with the following comment about “II”, whose cover artwork can be seen above: “When we wrote the first solo album I wanted to try some different musical styles. I didn’t want it to be really heavy, but more musical with catchy choruses. I think we did a pretty good job on that first one. But with this new album I wanted the music and lyrics to be darker and heavier. I think Mike did a fantastic job with the music. He listened to what I was saying and thinking musically. Tony knows that I like the big choruses and somewhat traditional sound. And of course Craig did an amazing job on the drums as usual. It’s an honor to be able to work with them.  This album is more of a reflection of what I heard going forward as a solo artist. Longer songs, deeper lyrics and really pushing myself vocally. I hope that whoever listens to it enjoys it as much as I did while working on it…”

“II” Track-listing:

1. This Hollow Shell (06:02)
2. My Oblivion (04:36)
3. Hands Of Time (06:08)
4. Waiting For Some Sun (04:29)
5. Silence The Enemy (04:41)
6. Keep Wandering (05:51)
7. Those Words I Bled (05:51)
8. Passengers (05:51)
9. Changes (07:45)
“II” is available as limited first-pressing Digipak CD edition with a bonus track (An acoustic version of the opening track “This Hollow Shell”), as Digital Album (Also including the bonus track!) and as LP on 180gr. vinyl, both on unlimited black vinyl as well as on transparent red vinyl in a limited edition of 300x copies, available exclusively via the IOM Webshop and from CMDistro. You can pre-order the album in its various formats HERE.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!