PORCUPINE TREE Announces “Deadwing” Deluxe Version

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Porcupine Tree is revisiting their 2005 album “Deadwing” with a deluxe reissue. The reissue features a 2018 remaster of the album by Steven Wilson, a handful of B-sides, a disc full of demos and instrumental jams, and a 77 minute live album recorded for the Rockpalast, Germany broadcast from 2005. The reissue also comes with a documentary titled Never Stop The Car An A Drive In The Dark, a 108-page book with an in-depth history of the band by Stephen Humphries, and rare photographs taken from Lasse Hoile and the band’s personal archives.

“Deadwing” was Porcupine Tree‘s eighth studio album, first released in 2005 following their breakthrough with “In Absentia,” it was the second in a run of 3 albums that for many represent the pinnacle of the band’s artistic achievements. It also continued their new-found commercial success to become the band’s top-selling record at the time. Based on a screenplay written by Steven Wilson and director Mike Bennion, about half of the songs were started with a view to being part of the score to a film, but when the film failed to move into the production stage, Wilson instead made them the foundation for the next PT album, with additional material written in collaboration with the other band members.

The album features guest appearances from Adrian Belew, who plays guitar solos on the title track and “Halo”, and Mikael Åkerfeldt who adds vocal harmonies and a guitar solo to “Arriving Somewhere But Not Here.”

The deluxe edition is out March 3 and is available HERE.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!