PAUL GILBERT Releases Music Video for Album Title Track ‘Werewolves Of Portland’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

MR. BIG guitarist Paul Gilbert will release his 16th solo studio album, “Werewolves Of Portland”, on June 4 via The Players Club. The virtuosic guitarist has unveiled today a video for the album title track which you can view below. The video features his 6 year old son, Marlon, playing the guitar, drumming and dancing together with Gilbert.

This is what Paul has to say about the song and new video: “My song “Werewolves of Portland” is actually two songs, put together. The first song is based on a short lyric, “I’ve got to look out for the werewolves… I’ll take a deep breath… ah-woooooooo!” which allows me to play some dramatic slide guitar. The second song was originally titled “Dad Metal.” It’s full of fast guitar riffs, percussive picking, and modulating dominant sus4 arpeggios. This section is very “busy” musically, so I was happy to join it with the sustaining “ah-whooooo” howling part for contrast. I played a melodic blues guitar solo, with some jazz chord changes in the middle, to let the song breathe even more.

For the video, I brought the idea of “Dad Metal” to life by having my 6-year-old son, Marlon, play guitar, drums, and dance together with me. Marlon brought great energy (and mischief, in general) to the video, and I tried my best to keep up with him. I’ll admit that my legs were sore for about two weeks after the shoot. Dancing is hard!
Of course, we stayed true to the “Werewolves” theme by wearing wolf masks and tails, and doing plenty of howling. 
I decided to play my Ibanez double neck guitar for the silhouette sections of the video, and Ibanez built a matching double neck (in two days!) for my son to use. He could barely lift it, but he tried his best! (It’s an awesome guitar, that I plan on using myself, at least until he’s old enough to play it.) Since I played all the instruments on the recording of the song, I also wanted to play some drums in the video. I didn’t own a drum set, so it gave me a good excuse to buy a small kit, which I now use for jamming in my studio. I’m thinking that the wolf masks and tails will come in handy around Halloween. Mostly, I’m happy that I could make a video of my “Boy Wolf” and me rocking out and having the best time. “Ah-wooooooo!!!”

Recorded at Opal Studio in Portland with co-producer and engineer Kevin Hahn, Gilbert pulled out some of his current favorite guitars for the job. “I mostly used my Ibanez Fireman guitars,” he says. “I’ve been collecting vintage Ibanez guitars lately, too. I brought some models from the ’70s, ’80s, and ’90s like the Ibanez Artist, Roadstar II and Ghostrider. I also brought and modified a ’60s Epiphone Olympic. I used to play those in the early days of Racer X, so it was fun to have a guitar that reminded me of my early shredder style.”
The album title’s inspiration partly comes from the Warren Zevon song, “Werewolves Of London”. “I live in Portland and thought it would be funny to substitute the name of my much lesser-known city. My original idea for the ‘Werewolves’ was just the guys in my band and me. When we play music, it is our version of ‘howling at the moon’. Unfortunately, Portland has become more ‘known’ in the last year for events that are pretty sad to watch. And ‘Werewolves’ could take on other meanings that I certainly hadn’t anticipated. But the title, to me, still has a musical meaning.”
Gilbert is a formidable force. From his time in LA metallers Racer X to helping form Mr. Big, one of the era’s most revered names. His distinguished solo career has seen him putting out 15 acclaimed records and has been asked to guest on albums from such diverse names as Todd Rundgren, Bowling For Soup, Glenn Hughes and MC Lars. He also toured with Joe Satriani and John Petrucci in 2007 (G3) and two years later with Richie Kotzen and George Lynch (Guitar Generation). This is not to mention a lengthy tenure as a much-in-demand teacher and instructor. This began when he was still a teenager, being hired in 1985 by the prestigious Guitar Institute Of Technology (GIT) in Los Angeles.
“I didn’t become a musician to shout my ideas, complaints, or philosophies at anyone. I love music because of the music. So I love my method of using my inner rants as scaffolding to build melodies. This scaffolding can then be pulled away to unveil some pure emotional music. This works perfectly for me and hopefully for my listeners. “I need to be able to visualize the look and sound of my fretboard well enough to play accurately in my mind. It’s almost like real air guitar! Then when I actually go to play the music, I’ve got a good chance of having my melodic intentions come true. And that’s about the best feeling in the world.”

“Werewolves of Portland” Tracklist

1.      Hello North Dakota!
2.      My Goodness
3.      Werewolves Of Portland
4.      Professorship At The Leningrad Conservatory
5.      Argument About Pie
6.      Meaningful
7.      I Wanna Cry (Even Though I Ain’t Sad)
8.      A Thunderous Ovation Shook The Columns
9.      Problem-Solving People
10.    (You Would Not Be Able To Handle) What I Handle Everyday


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!