OCTOPLOID (AMORPHIS) Stream New Single “The Dawns In Nothingness” Featuring SWALLOW THE SUN’s Singer

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

From death metal to prog to folk, with its wide range of influences, Octoploid‘s forthcoming debut album “Beyond The Aeons,” due out on July 5th via Reigning Phoenix Music, takes its listeners to a world of its own.

In anticipation of the record’s official release, the band led by bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine (Amorphis, Barren Earth, Mannhai) presents the second single off the record today with “The Dawns In Nothingness.”

Continuing the list of prestigious guests, Mikko Kotamäki (Swallow The Sun) lends his distinctive vocals to “The Dawns In Nothingness,” which opens the gate to “Beyond The Aeons”  in the form of the fateful peal of bells, cawing crows, and acoustic guitar tunes. The eventful song raises the bar with its driving yet dark character, interspersed with a handful of wonderfully psychedelic guitar/keyboard solo parts on what may be one of the most unexpected death-prog albums of the year.

Laine explains, “This track is an unlikely marriage between black and death metal, rock, and medieval monk chants, rounded out by Swallow The Sun vocalist Mikko Kotamäki. Even though the texts are very personal, the gloomy lyricism is not always to be taken literally. That’s just a part of the classic doom-metal ethos at its finest!”


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!