OCTOPLOID (AMORPHIS) Stream New Single ‘The Hallowed Flame’ Featuring SWALLOW THE SUN’s Singer

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

From death metal to prog to folk, with its wide range of influences, Octoploid‘s forthcoming debut album “Beyond The Aeons,” due out on July 5th via Reigning Phoenix Music, takes its listeners on a musical journey, heightened by Kotamäki’s wide vocal spectrum and garnished with dreamy lead melodies.

In anticipation of the record’s official release, the band led by bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine (Amorphis, Barren Earth, Mannhai) presents the final single, ‘The Hallowed Flame’.

Comments Oppu of the track: “It’s a doomy tune sung by Mikko Kotamäki which deals with love, longing, and hope. The crushing theme meets a tender verse, creating a vulnerable balance before the heavy interlude hits. This ballad draws its influences entirely from the ‘90s, boosting the nostalgic vibe of the entire performance.”

Hailing from Finland, the newly formed band Octoploid is making waves with their unique blend of musical influences. Established in 2022, the group takes inspiration from a surprising mix of genres: 90s death/black metal, 70s prog rock, and even 90s psychedelic rock. This results in a sound they themselves describe as “classic death prog.”

Their debut album, “Beyond The Aeons,” boasts an impressive production team. Mixing duties were handled by Petri Majuri, known for his work with Finnish rock legends Hanoi Rocks and Michael Monroe. Mastering comes courtesy of David Castillo, who has lent his expertise to albums by Katatonia, Leprous, and Opeth. The artwork, a dreamy visual complement to the music, was created by Orion Landau, who has worked with bands like Carcass and YOB.

Octoploid is built around bassist and main songwriter Olli-Pekka Laine. He’s joined by a seasoned group of musicians, each bringing their own flavor to the table. Drummer Mikko Pietinen offers a diverse background, having played in both stoner rock outfit MannhaI and Finnish pop-rock band Kasmir. Lead/rhythm guitarist Peter Salonen injects a fresh perspective as a newcomer to the scene, while his experience playing covers of Finnish psych legends Kingston Wall (with The Kinky Thing) adds another layer to the band’s sound. Rounding out the five-piece are keyboardist Kim Rantala (previously with Amorphis) and vocalist Mikko Kotamäki, known for his work with Finnish doom metal band Swallow The Sun (though taking on live duties for Octoploid).

“Beyond The Aeons” is available for pre-order HERE in various formats:

  • Digipak CD
  • Eco-friendly “Dusk Of Vex” marbled vinyl edition
  • Digital download. Fans who pre-order digitally can get three instant tracks, including collaborations with vocalists Mikko Kotamäki and Tomi Joutsen.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: This content is copyrighted!