OBSIDIOUS Shares Bass Play Through for “Sense of Lust”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Bass player Linus Klausenitzer of progressive metal outfit OBSIDIOUS is now releasing a bass play-through for the band’s latest single, “Sense of Lust.” The track is taken from the band’s upcoming debut album, which will be released later this year via Season of Mist! Stay tuned for more details! The video can be seen via the official Ibanez YouTube and below. .

Linus comments on the video: “The Obsidian is a jet black and heavy stone. These characteristics are perfectly represented by our new song ‘Sense Of Lust’ as well by the new Ibanez ‘Iron Label’ bass. The studio recording of the song is actually played mostly with a fretless bass. However, for this play through video I wanted to create an alternative sound by using this fretted bass. I hope you enjoy the intensity of the riffs and the bass sound as much as I do!”

In April 2020 guitarist Rafael Trujillo, bassist Linus Klausenitzer and drummer Sebastian Lanser decided to move on from their former band OBSCURA to continue their musical path with the completely new band OBSIDIOUS. Free from former boundaries, OBSIDIOUS merge extreme metal with other genres of music into a unique style that people will somehow find familiar, but haven‘t heard yet. Together with their singer Javi Perera they set out to create a musical evolution: With a fresh name, reaching for new fan groups utilizing modern marketing ideas. OBSIDIOUS’ band members have many facets and influences to build upon, using virtuosity & technique to write great songs.

Rafael Trujillo, Linus Klausenitzer and Sebastian Lanser built a strong bond after years of worldwide touring and recording together with OBSCURA. With their last record “Diluvium”, that was primarily composed by the trio, the band celebrated their biggest success to date. Formerly unseen chart positions alongside massive praise by prominent media outlets & magazines document the success of this team. OBSIDIOUS aims to expand the existing fan base that they’ve gained: All (ex-)formations of the Obsidious members were defined through their musical characters.

The four band members that are based in Europe are known for their high musicianship and virtuosity. Their advanced technical level is an essential and unique part of their compositions. Guitarist Rafael Trujillo has a multicultural background and studied music in different countries all around the globe. Linus Klausenitzer is one of the busiest session bassists in the scene and renowned for his 7-string fretless bass sound. Strong drum independence skills and stylistic diversity make Sebastian Lanser one of the most influential drummers of the new generation. The web community shares the Ex-Obscura members’ excitement about singer Javi Perera being celebrated for his diverse and charismatic vocal skills.

OBSIDIOUS’ music consists of modern riffs, strong decisive energetic melodies, virtuosity and epic unison lines. They love music that’s heavy, catchy, fast, and wild. The brand new album is currently being recorded and will be released via Season of Mist early 2022.


  • Linus Klausenitzer / Bass
  • Rafael Tujillo / Guitar
  • Javi Perera / Vocals
  • Sebastian Lanser / Drums


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!