MY SLEEPING KARMA Launch Visualizer Video For New Song “Ananda”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Last July 29 saw heavy hypnotic rock masters My Sleeping Karma return with their new album “Atma,” marking the band’s darkest, most emotional and deep record to date. Today, the band share a visualizer for the track “Ananda”. Watch it below.

Says the band: “‘Ananda’ means perfect and supreme bliss, delight, true and lasting joy, unimpaired and absolute bliss, which exists of itself and is not conditioned by external things. Ananda means joy or delight and it is unconditional joy – it is unconditional delight. As opposed to sukha, pleasure. Sukha is dependent on sense pleasure, dependent on external things. But Ananda is only pure joy.”

The new album, entitled “Atma,” describes the (absolute) self, the indestructible, eternal essence of the spirit, and is often translated as the “soul”. Sickness, death, and existential fear had brought the band to a point in music and life at which they were close to parting ways. But their will to survive has been recorded on “Atma” – a record the band wasn’t even sure would see the light of day when they started working on it back in 2017, and if it did, would’ve never been for industry sales, fame or success. “Atma”tells the story of their lives, processing the trauma of personal tragedies, deepest pain and fear of four best friends that have been going through their darkest days since their band existence.

Most of the six new album tracks near the 10-minute mark and shine in distinctive My Sleeping Karma fashion – from crystal clear, otherworldly intros bursting into bittersweet melodies of vulnerable beauty to imposing sound-spheres of mesmerizing heaviness with entrancing undercurrents. From the album’s first tone, it’s immediately evident that “Atma” isn’t just another new My Sleeping Karma record – it’s an infinite darkness, despair and sadness that furiously drives the German four-piece on studio album number six.  As Dave Wyndorf once said, My Sleeping Karma is ART – and their new, cathartic record not only captures the zeitgeist of the times, but leaves a little light for hope, love, beauty and strength amid all the ugly facets of our vulnerable lives.

“Atma” was produced, recorded and mixed by drummer Steffen Weigand at New Life Studios, and was mastered by Andreas Balaskas at Masterlab Studios in Berlin. The album artwork has been created by incredibly talented artist Sebastian Jerke. Order yourself a copy of “Atma” in any of the configurations detailed below by visiting here.

“Atma” is available in the following formats:

  • Digisleeve CD Edition
  • 1 LP Gatefold Black & 12 Page Booklet
  • 1 LP Gatefold & 12 Page Booklet Gold LTD 300 Copies
  • 1 LP Gatefold & 12 Page Booklet Transparent Turquoise Purple Splatter LTD 500 Copies
  • Vinyl Hardcover Book (1LP Gatefold CLEAR plus 10″ Vinyl Clear (2 Bonus Tracks) – 48 Page Booklet LTD 500 Copies
  • Digisleeve CD Edition & Canvas Edition (Napalm EU Only)
  • Digisleeve CD Edition & Shirt (Napalm EU Only)
  • Digital

“Atma” Tracklist:

1. Maya Shakti
2. Prema
3. Mukti
4. Avatara
5. Pralaya
6. Ananda

error: This content is copyrighted!