MISERY INDEX Release “Complete Control” Single And Music Video

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Baltimore-based death metal savants Misery Index have shared their next single “Complete Control”, directed, filmed and edited by J.T. Ibanez. The song is the title track for their new record “Complete Control” to be released worldwide via Century Media Records on May 13.

“‘Complete Control’ draws equally on our hardcore punk and old school death metal influences. The lyrics describe the awakening of a protagonist; one who becomes acutely aware of the totalizing power structures in everyday society that work not just from “above” – but from within as well,” states Misery Index about the new track.

Misery Index bassist/vocalist Jason Netherton states about “Complete Control”: “We are super stoked to present our new album “Complete Control” – a pandemic-spawned 9-track opus of vitriolic death metal which draws heavily on our enduring brutal hardcore and grindcore influences. We tracked the album in September and October of 2021, and it was subsequently mixed by Will Putney prior to being mastered by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street studios. The cover features the visceral, uncanny work of visual artist Matt Lombard, which to us hammers home the contradictory forces of control and chaos which define our modern age. The album’s central lyrical themes focus on these competing forces of control and chaos; they interrogate ‘power’ as something that is not always wielded with brute force in the modern age (through violence), but more so as a control-society where it manifests on a self-governing, individual level. ALSO, we are looking very much forward to hitting the road again this year! Starting with a run of dates with our old friends Origin and Wolf King in North America, leading into festival appearances, a West Coast US tour and an EU headliner coming later this year. Until then, see you all soon and keep hammering the nails!”

“Complete Control” was mixed by Will Putney, mastered by Jens Bogren / Fascination Street studios and features artwork by Matt Lombard, which can be seen below.

“Complete Control”, the seventh studio album and Century Media debut for Misery Index, is a riff-driven assault that captures the tension of the modern condition and channels it into 9 songs of ripping end-times death metal. Spewing with Orwellian invective and razor-sharp songwriting, Complete Control is a much-needed hammer to the face; a wake-up call for the disaffected and dispossessed.

Pre-order “Complete Control” here.

“Complete Control” track-listing:

  1. Administer The Dagger
  2. The Eaters And The Eaten
  3. Complete Control
  4. Necessary Suffering
  5. Rites Of Cruelty
  6. Conspiracy Of None
  7. Infiltrators
  8. Reciprocal Repulsion
  9. Now Defied!

Misery Index‘s first tour across North America starts in May to support the upcoming new album. Dubbed The Space Control Tour 2022, the run will feature Misery Index teaming up with Origin with support by Wolf King and with additional special guests.

Tour dates:

6 – Chicago, IL – Cobra Lounge
7 – Indianapolis, IN – Emerson Theater
8 – Detroit, MI – The Sanctuary
9 – Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground
10 – Ottawa, ON – Mavericks
11 – Montreal, QC – Foufounes Electriques
12 – Quebec City, QC – La Source de la Martinière
13 – Boston, MA – Sonia
14 – Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus Bar
15 – Clifton, NJ – Dingbatz
16 – Greensboro, NC – The Blind Tiger
17 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade (Hell)
18 – Tampa, FL – Brass Mug
20 – Houston, TX – Acadia
21 – Dallas, TX – Amplified
22 – Austin, TX – Come and Take It Live

Misery Index lineup:

  • Darin Morris / Guitar
  • Mark Kloeppel / Guitar, vocals
  • Adam Jarvis / Drums
  • Jason Netherton / Bass, vocals

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!