UK Death Metallers MEMORIAM Share Third Video/Single for Album Title Track “Rise To Power”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

MEMORIAM needs no introduction. Founded by former Bolt Thrower singer Karl Willetts and Benediction bassist Frank Healy — living legends of old-school death metal — MEMORIAM is arguably the most creative band of the genre right now. The band has built its own loyal fan base over the past seven years developing a distinct musical identity.

On February 3rd, the band will release their new studio album “Rise To Power”, via Reaper Entertainment. In advance of its release, today the band unleashes the album’s third single and video for the title track. Watch it now below.

The band elaborates, “So here we are with our fifth album release “Rise To Power”. For us, it is a new level to our style and approach to the music and lyrics contained within it. New styles and moods weave in and out of each track and we have a great feeling of accomplishment on this release. As with all our previous album releases, the messages contained lyrically are full of hope but also warnings. We do not preach but just hope that the listener can take something from the words and maybe think about the messages. As the famous quote says, ‘Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it,’ [philosopher George Santayana]. We hope you enjoy listening to “Rise To Power” as much as we enjoyed making it. There are plenty of mood shifts from almost melodic to full on brutality so there’s something for everyone! Onward.”

MEMORIAM’s “Rise To Power” will be available on CD, vinyl, and limited-edition boxset. Find pre-orders at THIS LOCATION.

With “Rise To Power”, MEMORIAM builds upon their signature sound with additional dynamics. From brutal grooves to moments of doomy melodic parts to aggressive Nordic riffing, “Rise To Power” is a wholly varied album. Once again, the production by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, Dimmu Borgir, At The Gates) at Parlor Studios rounds off the grandiose songwriting and the first-class recordings, which are charmingly “down-to-earth”, but wonderfully differentiated and come along with every detail on “Rise To Power” gives the deserved space. Since the band’s early days, Dan Seagrave (Benediction, Dismember, Hypocrisy, Suffocation) a constant companion who visually accompanies the music. After designing the artwork for the first four Memoriam albums, he also designed the cover for “Rise To Power”.

The band comments: “Introducing album number 5, “Rise To Power”, the second album in the second trilogy. For this album we have once again worked with creative genius Dan Seagrave. Dan designed the previous 4 album covers for us, so there was no other choice to keep the theme and continuity. We love his work and it’s a great experience to be part of the creative process while the artwork is being made. Seeing our fundamental ideas come to life through his mind and hands is amazing and he always delivers. 

“This time the cover is a majestic purple and features the “King” (the central figure in all of the artwork Dan creates for us) at his coronation ceremony where he “rises to power”. The new album’s lyrical content ties in with its predecessors by maintaining the theme of grief, loss and despair along with social commentary on current events such as the war in Ukraine and past events such as the Holocaust. The ubiquitous theme of war runs through the entire album, as it does on all the others. We consider Rise To Power to be our strongest album yet as it contains a variety of songs that build on what we’ve accomplished with Memoriam over the past 7 years. Rise To Power is a true celebration of life through death metal.”

“Rise to Power” Album Artwork

“Rise To Power” track-listing:

  1. Never Forget, Never Again (6 Million Dead)
  2. Total War
  3. I Am the Enemy
  4. The Conflict is Within
  5. Annihilation’s Dawn
  6. All is Lost
  7. Rise to Power
  8. This Pain

Memoriam are:

  • Karl Willetts / Vocals
  • Frank Healy / Bass
  • Scott Fairfax / Guitar
  • Spike T. Smith / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!