BEHEMOTH’s Front-man NERGAL’s Band ME AND THAT MAN Reunites with Original Singer John Porter for New Standalone Single “Fight” + Video

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

About four years ago, the paths of BEHEMOTH mastermind Adam “Nergal” Darski and guitarist and rock musician John Porter fatefully crossed. In great contrast to his previous career, Nergal joined forces with Porter to bring a whole new project to life: ME AND THAT MAN. After the first album, the two founding fathers parted ways, and Nergal went on to continue ME AND THAT MAN as a solo project featuring various prominent guest artists.

Only a few days after the release of the new ME AND THAT MAN album, “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 2” — and an incredible four years since the duo released their last track together — a brand new, standalone ME AND THAT MAN single, “Fight”, has surfaced featuring the nostalgic vocal contributions of Porter.

Right from the very beginning, “Fight” takes no detours and promises groovy melodies, deep bass-lines, dirty guitars and snare hits that shoot straight into the listener’s mind. The spotlight shines on Porter‘s raspy, spitting lead vocals that summon up the old spirits of ME AND THAT MAN‘s origins. Both new fans and especially those who have been following along from the beginning can look forward to this collaboration.

Nergal stated about the collaboration: “‘Fight’ is a last-minute endeavor ME AND THAT MAN committed with John Porter. This spontaneous collaboration was a reaction to the great vibes that were shared during our recent tour in Poland. While the lyrics themselves may not be positive and vital, it captures John‘s frustration towards all the bullshit we, the human race, have been fed in the recent decade… It’s a straight-up protest song! I love it!”

When ME AND THAT MAN originally split with Porter in 2018, Nergal told uDiscover about the collaboration: “I’ll try to be as diplomatic as I can. It wasn’t the easiest collaboration in my life, which means that it was the most difficult collaboration in my life. [Laughs] I’m talking man to man, because there’s been some man-female collaborations that were a bit harder. But [for a]man-to-man collaboration, it was very hard. So it just wouldn’t work. Either one would kill one another sooner or later, so better to stay alive and separate.”

Order “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 2” HERE.

Darski comments on the new album: “Here we go again, mother lovers! ‘New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 2’. You guys know the drill, I recruited the best of the best in heavy music to collaborate on some unique tracks me and the Polish, Italian and Ukrainian crew have been working on over the last 18 months. Once again, the result, amazing and the performances, inspired! Thank you, comrades — Abbath, Alissa, Amalie, Anders, Blaze, Chris G, Chris H, David, Devin, Douglas, Frank, Gary, Hank, Jeff, Kriss, M.Goore, Michale, Ralf and Randy. Who knows when we’ll get together to play these songs but I will try my best to make it happen! Enjoy it everyone!”

Following the chart-breaking part one of the album, ME AND THAT MAN are now presenting whole new facets: Opening track “Black Hearse Cadillac”, featuring the vocals of Hank Von Hell and guitar sorcery by Anders Odden, marks a sinister beginning to this infernal journey through dark desert soundscapes and evil lyricism. Driving “Under The Spell” (featuring Mary Goore) lives up to its title, at times evoking a spaghetti western-esque ambience. Songs like wicked “Witches Don’t Fall In Love” (featuring Kristoffer Rygg of ULVER), straight-to-the-head rocking “Blues & Cocaine” (featuring Michale Graves) and mysterious “Goodbye” — with a haunting-yet-powerful vocal attack by Alissa White-Gluz — showcase the record’s extensive variety and that there’s something unexpected lurking all throughout. This is further evident on songs like the soulful blues-rock ballad “Angel Of Light” featuring the compelling voice of Myrkur, or insanely dynamic, uptempo outburst of “Got Your Tongue” featuring Chris Georgiadis (TURBOWOLF).

After the enticing debut “Songs Of Love And Death” (2017), followed by sophomore release “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 1”, its sequel once again mirrors Nergal in a completely different light and provides a tremendous contrast to the extreme metal sounds of BEHEMOTH.

“New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 2” track listing:

1. Black Hearse Cadillac (Featuring Hank Von Hell, Anders Odden)
2. Under the Spell (Featuring Mary Goore)
3. All Hope Has Gone (Featuring  Blaze Bayley, Gary Holt, Jeff Mantas Dunn)
4. Witches Don’t Fall In Love (Featuring Kristoffer Rygg)
5. Losing My Blues (Featuring Olve Abbath Eikemo, Frank The Baptist, Chris Holmes)
6. Coldest Day In Hell (Featuring Ralf Gyllenhammar, Douglas Blair)
7. Year Of The Snake (Featuring David Vincent)
8. Blues & Cocaine (Featuring Michale Graves)
9. Silver Halide Echoes (Featuring Randy Blythe)
10. Goodbye (Featuring Alissa White-Gluz, Devin Townsend)
11. Angel Of Light (Featuring Myrkur)
12. Got Your Tongue (Featuring Chris Georgiadis)


  • Adam “Nergal” Darski / Vocals, Guitars
  • Łukasz Kumański / Drums and Percussion, Backing Vocals
  • Matteo Bassoli / Bass, Synth, Backing Vocals
  • Sasha Boole / Guitars, Mouth Harp, Banjo

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!