Listen to VIO-LENCE First Original Song In 29 Years: ‘Flesh From Bone’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

San Francisco Bay Area thrashers VIO-LENCE have returned with “Flesh From Bone”, their first song in 29 years. The track comes from their upcoming EP, “Let The World Burn”, their first original release since 1993’s “Nothing To Gain”. The five-song collection will be available worldwide on March 4 via Metal Blade Records. Listen to the song below.

“This is the first VIO-LENCE song I had written in close to 30 years,” admits founding guitarist Phil Demmel. “I wanted to keep some of those early ‘Eternal Nightmare’ [debut album, 1988]qualities intact but infuse a lot of what I’ve culled into my songwriting arsenal over the decades. ‘Flesh From Bone’ has the frenetic picking/fingering riffs and the solo trade-offs that are pretty old-school, and I’m also wearing my influences on my sleeve with a few EXODUS– and SLAYER-inspired riffs.”

Front-man Sean Killian adds: Flesh From Bone’ reflects on the true suffering of man during the dark ages of history. Laws and rules of people like Vlad The Impaler were not to be broken. If you did, your sentence would be impalement, or worse. To die in battle was to suffer.”

Killian continues: “For 34 years, a creation called ‘Eternal Nightmare’ has been making memories for people around the world. Now, it is time to create some new memories in 2022. I am very proud of the new music we created, and we are fortunate to have worked with some very creative people. Nothing too polished here, unless fragments of glass and broken razor blades are what you consider polished. I love to create, and we hope your heads explode when you hear the new VIO-LENCE.”

Filling out the band’s ranks on “Let The World Burn” alongside Demmel and Killian are original drummer Perry Strickland, former OVERKILL guitarist Bobby Gustafson and former FEAR FACTORY bassist Christian Olde Wolbers.

“Let The World Burn” Album Artwork

“Let The World Burn” was recorded with Juan Urteaga at Trident Studios (TESTAMENT, MACHINE HEAD, EXODUS), with mixing handled by Tue Madsen (THE HAUNTED, MESHUGGAH) and Grammy Award-winning engineer Ted Jensen (ALICE IN CHAINS, DEFTONES, PANTERA).

“Let The World Burn” track-listing:

 1. Flesh From Bone
 2. Screaming Always
 3. Upon Their Cross
 4. Gato Negro
 5. Let the World Burn

“Let The World Burn” will be available in the following formats at Metal Blade Records:

  • Digipak-CD
  • Orange/red marbled (US exclusive)
  • 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
  • Crimson marbled (EU exclusive – limited to 400)
  • Firefly glow marbled (EU exclusive – limited to 300)
  • Deep violet marbled (EU exclusive – limited to 200)
  • Ochre brown marbled (EU exclusive – limited to 200)
  • All digital platforms (Spotify, iTunes, etc)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!