Listen to QUEENSRŸCHE Frontman TODD LA TORRE First Single ‘Darkened Majesty’ from Debut Solo Album “Rejoice in The Suffering”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

As global touring came to a sudden and unexpected halt earlier this year, Queensrÿche front-man Todd La Torre has been using his recent pandemic downtime to put the finishing touches on his debut solo album “Rejoice in The Suffering”. Today Todd and Rat Pak Records have released the first piece of music from the upcoming album. “Darkened Majesty” is a driving metal song complete with furious drumwork from La Torre, dynamic tempo shifts and showcases Todd’s vocals in a way most fans have not heard before. The song opens with an up-tempo riff from guitarist Craig Blackwell that becomes the backbone throughout “Darkened Majesty.” Check out the lyric video below.

“Darkened Majesty was one of the last songs written for this album.  After having much of this album written, we wanted a song that immediately started out with a faster tempo.  To be perfectly honest, this song was completely written in two days,” explains Todd La Torre. “We felt that for a first song, this showcases some of that vocal and musical diversity that exists on the album. Thanks to everyone for all of the amazing interest and valued support of my debut solo album!!”

The idea for a solo album was always in the cards for Todd. With Queensrÿche tour dates postponed indefinitely, the world events offered Todd the opportunity to explore his ideas for “Rejoice in The Suffering”. Todd teamed up with longtime friend and collaborator Craig Blackwell and alongside producer Chris “Zeuss” Harris created a diverse heavy metal album that draws influence from different styles. These styles will surprise fans who only know La Torre from his previous work with Queensrÿche or Crimson Glory before that. “Rejoice in The Suffering” is scheduled for release globally on February 5, 2021 via Rat Pak Records.

“Rejoice In The Suffering was truly a labor of love. It’s a pure metal record that certainly showcases a wide range of my vocal abilities. I feel there is something for any true fan of metal on this album. This album is full of groove, dynamics, power, and substance and I can’t wait for people to hear it,” explains Todd La Torre.

From the album’s opening riffs of “Dogmata” to the vocal acrobatics that drive the album closer “Apology,” it is apparent that Todd La Torre has a true love of heavy metal. Playing drums and recording the vocals for the album, songs like “Darkened Majesty” and “Critical Cynic” offer an inside look into the musical mind of La Torre. Craig Blackwell’s guitar playing provides the perfect musical accents to La Torre’s vocals. Todd even finds vocal wails not heard from him before as showcased on the title track and the punishing “Vanguards of the Dawn Wall.” The deluxe version of the album features 3 bonus tracks: “Fractured,” “Set It Off” and “One by One.”

Pre-orders have started at this location.

“Rejoice in The Suffering” Tracklisting:

  1. Dogmata
  2. Pretenders
  3. Hellbound and Down
  4. Darkened Majesty
  5. Crossroads to Insanity
  6. Critical Cynic
  7. Rejoice in the Suffering
  8. Vexed
  9. Vanguards of the Dawn Wall
  10. Apology

Bonus Tracks (Deluxe Version Only)

  1. Fractured
  2. Set it Off
  3. One by One


Comments are closed.