Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Finnish cello rockers Apocalyptica recently announced a follow-up to their legendary debut record. “Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2” will continue the journey that began in 1996 when cellists from Helsinki’s world-renowned Sibelius Academy played symphonic tribute to the biggest of the big four–heavy metal titans Metallica.

Today the band has shared the official music video for their rendition of “One”. Falling hot on the heels of previous singles “The Four Horsemen” and “The Unforgiven II,” the cover features none other than Metallica frontman James Hetfield himself.

One,” taken from Metallica’s 1988 landmark “…And Justice For All” is a breathtaking reinterpretation of one of the biggest of The Big Four’s greatest musical moments – a true crowning creative achievement in their staggering 40-year career. In a stunning development, the single sees Metallica frontman James Hetfield himself joining proceedings for a soul-stirring, spoken-word rendition of those inimitable, now immortal lyrics. More than a unique collaboration, this is history in the making.

“I think it’s incredible that James wanted to do it,” says Eicca Toppinen. “We were always thinking, ‘it’d be great to someday do something with Metallica!’ I think the excitement for him came from the different approach we were taking – sometimes the craziest ideas are what excites people and that was our challenge.”

For their 9th record, the classically minded dynamos are returning to their roots to bring a legendary story full circle. It also features a host of surprises beginning with a unique collaboration. Lead single “The Four Horsemen”, a song that originally appeared on Metallica‘s 1983 debut “Kill ‘Em All”, features Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo, setting the scene for a compendium of deep cuts and brilliant highlights spanning Metallica‘s staggering 40-year career, and there are more surprises to come.

Apocalyptica leader Eicca Toppinen previously commented about the album: “It’s the coolest thing. We didn’t push; it was offered. We played the first album live and it was so much more fun and exciting than we expected, so we got the idea to do something like the first album, but we couldn’t do it in exactly the same way; we needed to challenge ourselves and bring a totally new perspective to the original energy and emotion of Metallica.”

Apocalyptica lead cellist Perttu Kivilaakso added: “We’ve been talking about making another Metallica album for around 20 years, as there were still so many great songs we wanted to play! We waited for the perfect moment to do it. Thinking of that teenage me who is now getting to play his favorite tracks gives me goosebumps!”

“Plays Metallica Vol. 2” was produced by longtime collaborator and studio supremo Joe Barresi and will be released via new label Throwdown Entertainment on June 7.

“Plays Metallica Vol. 2” Artwork

This album will be the Apocalyptica‘s final studio release with the band’s longtime member, drummer Mikko Sirén, who amicably departed after the new LP’s completion. Alongside the announcement, Apocalyptica will be touring in support of the record, taking them through Europe.

“Plays Metallica Vol. 2” track listing:

1. Ride The Lightning
2. St Anger
3. The Unforgiven II
4. Blackened
5. The Call Of Ktulu (in memory of Cliff Burton)
6. The Four Horsemen (featuring Robert Trujillo)
7. Holier Than Thou
8. To Live Is To Die
9. One
10. One (Instrumental)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: This content is copyrighted!