KK’S PRIEST (Featuring DOWNING and OWENS) Releases “Sermons Of The Sinner” Album, Watch the Lyric Video for ‘Return of the Sentinel’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

KK’S PRIEST, the new band featuring former JUDAS PRIEST members K.K. Downing (guitar) and Tim “Ripper” Owens (vocals), along with guitarist A.J. Mills (HOSTILE), bassist Tony Newton (VOODOO SIX) and drummer Sean Elg (DEATHRIDERSCAGE), have released its debut album, “Sermons Of The Sinner”, today via Explorer1 Music Group/EX1 Records. Original KK’S PRIEST drummer Les Binks (ex-JUDAS PRIEST), unfortunately, sustained a wrist injury, but will make special guest live appearances when the band tours.

Alongside the album release comes the epic 9-minute video for the single “Return of the Sentinel.”  With references to the sci fi greats, the lyric video looks like a combination of the best elements of each of them. “The “Return of the Sentinel” song and video defines the whole sound and image of the evolution of true and classic metal… Metal that is such an important part of all of us that have been on this wonderful journey together,” explains Downing.

The album cover features a mysterious figure robed in a monk’s habit, whom Downing slyly states may or may not be him, holding a book of sermons. He says the “sinner” in the title refers to his famous solo in that classic song of the same name and also reflects his sense of alienation from the groundbreaking group that he helped create. “The whole concept is the fact that I continue proudly to be who I am and what I am and do what I do,” declares Downing. “It’s been nearly 10 years. I’m back making music.”

And his disciples are ready to receive his sermons. He’s brought a former band-mate along for the ride, and they have unleashed an album with a modern sound that hearkens back to what fans have always loved about Downing and his music and which still sounds fresh. “All of my life, people always wanted an album that we’ve made in the past,” muses Downing. “‘What’s the new album like? Will it be anything like ‘British Steel’? Will it be anything like ‘Sad Wings’?’ People hoping you’re going to make a record that you’ve already made. So in a way this record just sounds like something that has already been made or should have been be made. It does have a lot of things that are connected to the past. For example, ‘Brothers Of The Road’. If you take all the lyrics off and just listen to the music, maybe you could be listening to ‘You’ve Got Another Thing Comin”.”

The album is available for purchase in various configurations, including an exclusive limited-edition autographed metal vinyl (silver disc) with bonus CD album, via the band’s online store. The album can be streamed via all global digital streaming partners as well. KK’S PRIEST has also announced a limited collector’s piece, a scroll that chronicles the lyrical content of “Sermons Of The Sinner”. The scroll features lyrics of all 10 tracks on the forthcoming album; spanning 14X50″ on parchment paper rolled on metal pole ends. Also included is a certificate of authenticity signed by Downing. It can be found here.

KK’s Priest‘s new material is most certainly a homage. They have unleashed an album with a modern sound that hearkens back to what fans have always loved about Downing and his music and which still sounds fresh. The high speed album opener “Hellfire Thunderbolt” offers a fictitious take on how metal arrived before the masses were ready for it. Rousing rockers like “Raise Your Fists” and “Wild And Free” revel in the passion and excess that metal fans embrace. The guitar interplay is intense and inspiring, and the band is firing on all cylinders. “Sermons Of The Sinner” is an incredible collection of future metal classics, sure to be one of the stand-out metal releases of 2021. 

“Sermon Of The Sinner” Album Artwork

“Sermons Of The Sinner” track listing:

 1. Incarnation
 2. Hellfire Thunderbolt
 3. Sermons Of The Sinner
 4. Sacerdote Y Diablo
 5. Raise Your Fists
 6. Brothers Of The Road
 7. Metal Through And Through
 8. Wild And Free
 9. Hail For The Priest
10. Return Of The Sentinel

KK’S PRIEST, which pays homage to Downing‘s past, will play select shows to mark the 50th anniversary of PRIEST and Downing‘s career as a founding member. KK’S PRIEST‘s setlist will consist of PRIEST classics and new songs. 

Owens joined PRIEST in 1996 and recorded two studio albums with the band — 1997’s “Jugulator” and 2001’s “Demolition” — before PRIEST reunited with Rob Halford in 2003. Downing left PRIEST in 2011 amid claims of band conflict, shoddy management and declining quality of performance. He was replaced by Richie Faulkner, nearly three decades his junior.o retire from touring.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!