JORDAN RUDESS Announces New Solo Album “Permission To Fly” & Launches Epic New Single ‘The Alchemist’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Legendary Dream Theater keyboardist Jordan Rudess is pleased to announce his brand new solo album “Permission To Fly” which will be released on September 6th, 2024 via InsideOutMusic. No stranger to experimentation, known for leading the charge in pushing creative, sonic, and technological boundaries, his latest endeavor, epitomizes this ethos, delving into the complexities of human existence within our multifaceted world.

As Jordan Rudess explains: “The essence of the album is deeply informed by the tumultuous events of 2023-2024, with motifs of peace and anti-violence woven throughout many of the songs.”

To mark the announcement, he has launched the epic new track ‘The Alchemist’, with a video by Wayne Joyner.

While some previous releases were true solo pursuits, this time, Rudess assembled a core group of musicians to support and elevate his vision. The album features Jordan alongside That Joe Payne on vocals, Darby Todd (Devin Townsend) on drums, and Steve Dadaian on guitar, as well as guest guitar solos from Bastian Martinez.

With the music in capable hands, Rudess wanted to make sure to give the lyrics their proper attention. For that, he turned to a source close to home, his daughter.

“All the lyrics on the album were written by my daughter, Ariana. While I enjoy writing lyrics myself, my primary focus tends to be on the sonic quality of the words. For this album, I wanted to delve deeper and offer something that resonated on a more profound and cerebral level. Ari did an exceptional job.”

“Permission To Fly” will be available as Limited CD Digipak, and Gatefold 180g 2LP (both including bonus material), as well as digitally. It is available to pre-order now HERE.

“Permission To Fly” Track List:

  1. The Final Threshold
  2. Into The Lair
  3. Haunted Reverie
  4. The Alchemist
  5. Embers
  6. Shadow of the Moon
  7. Eternal
  8. Footstep in the Snow
  9. Dreamer
  10. Incarnation (Bonus Track)
  11. Chopin Fm (Bonus Track)

Jordan recently made his live debut with Darby Todd & That Joe Payne, with two rapturously received sets on the 2024 edition of Cruise To The Edge, also marking the live premiere of the new single ‘Embers’.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: This content is copyrighted!