HOST Feat. PARADISE LOST’s NICK HOLMES And GREG MACKINTOSH Release Music Video For New Single “Hiding From Tomorrow”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

HOST, the new project from PARADISE LOST vocalist Nick Holmes and guitarist Greg Mackintosh, will release its debut album, “IX”, on February 24, 2023 via Nuclear Blast Records.

The music video for the album’s second single “Hiding From Tomorrow”, can be watched below. This new offering is a brooding cut of stark goth rock, akin to the works of Siouxise And The Banshees and The Sisters Of Mercy.

Vocalist Nick Holmes comments: “‘Hiding From Tomorrow’ was one of the first songs we wrote for the Host project and although the title would suggest otherwise, it was written a few years prior to the pandemic. With that in mind, I was thinking about the things that keep you awake at night, and although life is something that should never be taken for granted, uncertainty is a big part of it, and none of us know what’s around the corner.”

The origins of HOST do not trace back to the 1999 PARADISE LOST album bearing the same name but instead to the West Yorkshire music clubs of the mid-to-late 1980s. While Holmes and Mackintosh were already certified heavy metal fanatics (“metal thrashing mad,” as Holmes equates),they were equally drawn to the new wave and goth music scenes. The pounding rhythms, sublime melodies and undercurrent of darkness drew them in, creating immediate earworms and a desire to delve further.

“IX” Album Artwork

“IX” track listing:

 1. Wretched Soul
 2. Tomorrow’s Sky
 3. Divine Emotion
 4. Hiding From Tomorrow
 5. A Troubled Mind
 6. My Only Escape
 7. Years of Suspicion
 8. Inquisition
 9. Instinct

Digipack bonus tracks:

10. I Ran (FLOCK OF SEAGULLS cover)
11. Hiding From Tomorrow (Lustmord remix)
12. Tomorrow’s Sky (GosT remix)

Mackintosh finally put plans into motion during the pandemic for a venture that would merge his penchant for sound design with the moods and atmosphere of 1980s dance-pop and goth. The project was originally a solo pursuit until he asked Holmes, his longtime PARADISE LOST songwriting partner, to join. HOST was selected as the name as a tip of the hat to the aforementioned album that found PARADISE LOST in an unprecedented period of experimentation that eschewed their metal roots and also challenged their fan-base in ways like never before.

“We always stood by ‘Host’ as an album,” says Mackintosh. “This project is not totally connected to that album, but some of the ideas are extrapolated. We’re taking the basic premise and trying it out now. And, really, it was something fun and interesting for us to do. We’ve been doing PARADISE LOST for a long time and got an itch to try something different from where PL is now. I could take PL down this route again. Who knows? It may happen if we live long enough, but I thought, ‘Why not now?’ I had the time to do it.”

HOST is:

  • Nick Holmes / Vocals
  • Greg Mackintosh / Guitars, Synths & Programming

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!