GOV’T MULE Releases New Rendition of TOM WAITS’ “Make It Rain”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Renowned quartet Gov’t Mule – led by GRAMMY® Award-winning vocalist, songwriter, guitar legend, and producer Warren Haynes – has released the latest offering from their forthcoming blues album, “Heavy Load Blues,” with their rendition of the Tom Waits classic, “Make It Rain.” The scuzzy blues-rock arrangement of “Make It Rain” features a slab of thunderous vibrations, an unexpected element caused during the recording of the album which took the band by surprise, but ultimately enhanced the song’s determined and defiant delivery. “Make It Rain” marks the third track released from “Heavy Load Blues,” the band’s first-ever blues album out November 12 via Fantasy Records, which encompasses an even mix of Haynes’ originals and revered covers originally made famous by the likes of Howlin’ Wolf, Elmore James, Ann Peebles, Bobby “Blue” Bland, Junior Wells and the Animals. To listen to “Make It Rain” and watch the behind-the-scenes video of the track, see below.

When recording the album, I had brought in this old Fender spring reverb unit that I wanted to use on my guitar sound,” Haynes shares. “They can be pretty finicky. If the stage isn’t solid, or somebody’s jumping up and down, it reacts by making this crazy reverb vibration that comes through the amp. I had intentionally set it up on the studio floor to make it kind of shockproof, but what we didn’t allow for was some radio frequencies that randomly interfered and set it off. So, it started making these weird sounds that sounded like thunder. We were in the middle of what turned out to be the best take of ‘Make It Rain’ and it began doing that throughout the whole thing. As it turned out, it happened in these key spots in the song. When we were finished and listened to it with engineer and co-producer John Paterno, we decided to use it. It actually sounded like we planned it that way!”

Heavy Load Blues” is available for pre-order now at all DSPs; each digital pre-save will include an instant download of “Make It Rain” and previously released offerings “Heavy Load” and “Snatch It Back and Hold It – Hold It Back – Snatch It Back and Hold It” – go here. Physical CDs and vinyl are also available for pre-order now from the band’s webstore, Barnes & Noble, Amazon, and local record stores. A deluxe edition featuring additional studio and live tracks, including another Haynes original and covers originally by Savoy Brown, Sonny Boy Williamson, Muddy Waters, Otis Rush and more, will also be available.

Gov’t Mule has also announced their return to The Tabernacle in Atlanta, GA for two very special back-to-back shows during Halloween weekend this October. The band will perform “Heavy Load Blues” in its entirety for the first time on Friday, October 29th along with other surprises and then on Saturday, October 30th will celebrate the return of their annual Mule-O-Ween show with special guests Charlie Starr (Blackberry Smoke) and Paul Riddle (Marshall Tucker Band). Gov’t Mule’s previous Mule-O-Ween performances have included sets honoring Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, The Rolling Stones, and Neil Young. Tickets are on sale now.

Gov’t Mule will also continue with their 2021 tour dates leading up to the release of “Heavy Load Blues” offering fans a variety of options to catch the road warriors, including dates on Willie Nelson’s Outlaw Music Festival Tour alongside Nelson and The Avett Brothers, headlining shows, and festival appearances. See below for full tour routing and visit for more details.

Though technically considered a studio album, “Heavy Load Blues” was recorded live in the studio at The Power Station New England on analog tape, utilizing vintage guitars, amps and other equipment to capture an authentic sound. The 13-track album was produced by Haynes alongside engineer and co-producer John Paterno (Michael Landau, Robbie Williams, The Steve Gadd Band).

Gov’t Mule’s rendition of “Snatch It Back and Hold It” follows the release of “Heavy Load,” the first original track off “Heavy Load Blues”. The ominous acoustic blues number is highlighted by Haynes’ mournful vocal and supple yet deliberate riffing. While several titles on the forthcoming collection may sound familiar to blues enthusiasts, the band – Haynes, Matt Abts [drums], Danny Louis [keyboards, guitar, and backing vocals], and Jorgen Carlsson [bass]– often opted to put its own spin on them. “I Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home,” originally recorded by Ann Peebles, is one of the few songs on the record the band has previously played live. On their version, Haynes’ nimble guitar riffs are played out over a solid foundation of organ and rhythm, resulting in a kind of funk-like finesse. For the Howlin’ Wolf song, “I Asked Her For Water, She Gave Me Gasoline,” Gov’t Mule, who are known for pushing the parameters while melding a variety of genres — rock, R&B, jam, funk, jazz, and practically everything in-between, opted for a heavy, up-tempo and funky version that is a far cry from the original. See below for full track listing.

Coming up later this winter, the band returns to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort in Runaway Bay, Jamaica for Island Exodus 12, the ultimate “concert-cation” experience from January 16-20, 2022. Hosted by Gov’t Mule, who will perform three full two-set shows, and Warren Haynes, offering his unique, interactive “Q and Play” set, a hybrid concert performance and storytelling session, the multi-day experience will also feature intimate beachfront concerts from Dawes and The War and Treaty, who will perform multiple sets, and special guest Ron Holloway, who will present an extended afternoon “Sax On The Beach” set. Attendees arriving early for Exodus Eve on January 15th will see “RoHo” part of Melvin Seals & JGB + Ron Holloway’s “Legion of Melvin” show. Visit for more info and ticketing details.

“Heavy Load Blues” Track Listing:

  1. Blues Before Sunrise 
  2. Hole In My Soul 
  3. Wake Up Dead 
  4. Love Is A Mean Old World 
  5. Snatch It Back and Hold It – Hold It Back – Snatch It Back and Hold It 
  6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
  7. (Brother Bill) Last Clean Shirt  
  8. Make It Rain 
  9. Heavy Load 
  10. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home 
  11. If Heartaches Were Nickels 
  12. I Asked Her For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
  13. Black Horizon 

Deluxe Version – Bonus Tracks: 

  1. Hiding Place 
  2. You Know My Love 
  3. Street Corner Talking 
  4. Have Mercy On The Criminal 
  5. Long Distance Call
  6. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home (Extended Version)
  7. Need Your Love So Bad (Live)
  8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl with Hook Herrera (Live)


*New dates in bold

October 3 – Tampa, FL @ Gasparilla Music Festival
October 15 – Phoenix, AZ @ Ak-Chin Pavilion # 
October 16 – Irvine, CA @ FivePoint Amphitheatre # 
October 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco
October 20 – Napa, CA @ Uptown Theater
October 22 – Placerville, CA @ Hangtown Music Festival
October 23 – Mountainview, CA @ Shoreline Amphitheater # 
October 24 – Wheatland, CA @ Toyota Amphitheatre # 
October 29 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle
October 30 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle
January 16-20 – Runaway Bay, Jamaica @ Island Exodus 12


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!