Melodic Rockers GATHERING OF KINGS to Release New Album In May; “Vagabond Rise” Single Due In January

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Gathering Of Kings will release a new song, “Vagabond Rise”, on Sunday, January 2. The track is the first single from the band’s upcoming, yet untitled third studio album, set for release in May.

“Vagabond Rise” was produced by Thomas “Plec” Johansson at The Panic Room in Skövde with Ron Dahlgren, Nina Dahlgren & Victor Olsson as executive producers. The track was written by Victor Olsson and the lyrics were written by Victor and Alexander Frisborg. Drums were recorded at Nordic Sound Lab by Mikko Viitala and Victor Olsson.

The cover artwork for the single was created by Markus Vesper Art.

Guitarist and songwriter Victor Olsson commented on the new single: “The song itself is a story of empowerment, domestic abuse and taking matters into your own hands, despite leaving yourself vulnerable and homeless. A story that came to me after watching the Netflix show “Maid”, I felt very strongly about the subject and wanted to put it in an empowering 80s rock costume! Hopefully you’ll all sense the vibe and feel what we feel.”

Gathering Of Kings was created and is supervised by Ron Dahlgren and Nina Dahlgren, bringing together top musicians from the current hard rock scene in Sweden. The idea was to create an AOR/melodic hard rock project/band like Tom Galley‘s Phenomena or even Tobias Sammet‘s Avantasia, with multiple vocalists and instrumentalists. Victor Olsson is the main songwriter, with Alexander Frisborg co-writing the lyrics.

Gathering Of Kings began work on the third album a couple of months ago and continues their creative relationship with producer Thomas “Plec” Johansson, who has previously worked with Soilwork, Nocturnal Rites, Dynazty, Hank von Hell, The Night Flight Orchestra, Thundermother, Saffire and Eleine among many others.

Gathering Of Kings are:

  • Jonny Lindkvist (Nocturnal Rites) / Lead Vocals
  • Rick Altzi (Masterplan, Herman Frank) / Lead Vocals
  • Apollo Papathanasio (Spiritual Beggars, ex-Firewind) / Lead Vocals
  • Tobias Jansson (Saffire) / Lead Vocals
  • Alexander Frisborg (Karess, Helldog) / Lead Vocals
  • Victor Olsson (Saffire) / Guitar
  • Magnus Mild (Perpetual Etude, Air Raid) / Guitar
  • Mikael Planefeldt (NorthTale, Perpetual Etude) / Bass
  • Joel Selsfors (Creye) / Keyboards
  • Jonas Källsbäck (The Night Flight Orchestra) / Drums
  • Efraim Larsson (Saffire) / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!