Death/Doom Merchants FIRES IN THE DISTANCE Premiere New Single and Music Video for ‘Crumbling Pillars of a Tranquil Mind’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Connecticut, US melodic death / doom band FIRES IN THE DISTANCE have released today a new single and music video for their single “Crumbling Pillars of a Tranquil Mind”. The track is the final pre-release track to be taken from their forthcoming sophomore album, “Air Not Meant For Us”, which is set for release via Prosthetic Records on Friday (April 28). Watch it below.

Speaking on the premiere the band comments: “Crumbling Pillars of a Tranquil Mind is one of the heaviest songs from Air Not Meant For Us. A slow, crushing, and heartfelt dive, detailing the devastating processes of complete mental collapse. The song highlights Randy Slaugh’s (Tesseract, Devin Townsend, Periphery) orchestral contributions and brings forward deeply emotional passages through melancholy and melodic string sections.”

On their second album, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE further expand on their musical foundations of wistful melodicism, crushingly heavy guitar work and intricate atmospherics. Across “Air Not Meant For Us”’ six tracks, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE tie together intensely personal ruminations on mental health and themes of existentialism in the form of mortality salience, without losing sight of the importance of perseverance.

Teaming up with Salt Lake City producer Randy Slaugh, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE’s chief songwriter Yegor Savonin (composition, guitars, programming, lyrics) sought to reach even greater dynamics within the band’s core sound of melodic death and doom metal. With live orchestration in the form of violas, violins, cellos, as well as piano work, proving to be an incredibly fruitful collaborative process for both band and producer.
“Air Not Meant For Us” marks the first time the band have recorded with new drummer, Jordan Rippe, who delivers his own wide range of ornate work and feeling to the group’s established sound. Whilst drums for the album were recorded at the historic Power Station New England, the rest of the instruments were tracked at Studio Wormwood in North Carolina with returning producer, Dave Kaminsky, who handled recording and mixing in both studios. 
In addition to the collaboration with Randy Slaugh, the album also features a guest appearance from Burial in the Sky guitarist James Tomedi on instrumental track “Adrift, Beneath the Listless Waves”, who’s deft fretwork adds an additional layer of dynamic sheen. Kristian Grimaldi’s thunderous vocal delivery compliments the album’s composition strongly and projects the songs to a greater level of formidability. The record is rounded out by Craig Breitsprecher’s complex and serpentine bass work which weave throughout the LP with an imperative sense of cohesion.
Seeking to retain aesthetic continuity, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE once again reached out to Caelan Stokkermans for the album’s art and layout, which masterfully conveys “Air Not Meant For Us”’ emotional core. With a runtime of 51 minutes across six songs, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE’s sophomore effort is a melodic doom and death metal odyssey in both artistic vision and sound.

“Air Not Meant For Us” Artwork

“Air Not Meant For Us” track-list:

1. Harbingers
2. Wisdom of the Falling Leaves
3. Crumbling Pillars of a Tranquil Mind
4. Adrift, Beneath the Listless Waves
5. Psalm of the Merciless
6. Idiopathic Despair


  • Yegor Savonin / Composition, guitars, programming, lyrics
  • Craig Breitsprecher  / Bass, vocals
  • Kristian Grimaldi  / Guitars, vocals
  • Jordan Rippe  / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!