EVERGREY Shares Lyric Video for Final Single “The Beholder” Featuring DREAM THEATER’s Front-man JAMES LABRIE

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Swedish progressive metal band EVERGREY will release their new 12th studio album “Escape Of The Phoenix”, tomorrow February 26th via AFM Records. The lyric video for the band’s third single, “The Beholder” can be viewed below, which features Dream Theater‘s front-man James LaBrie.

Written and recorded during the ongoing global COVID-19 pandemic, “Escape Of The Phoenix” came to life according to plans that had been laid out in 2019. Tom Englund and drummer Jonas Ekdahl began composing the songs in January, creating a foundation for the album before Evergrey gathered together and arranged the songs as a group. Unlike a typical creative process, which is often interrupted by appointments, travelling and one-off shows, lockdown requirements gave the band much needed time to work unhindered. The result is 11 songs that embody everything Evergrey fans have to expect, albeit “a more metal version of “The Atlantic”, with songs that are more direct” according to Englund and producer Jacob Hansen.

“Escape Of The Phoenix” continues to showcase Englund as a powerful lyricist as he once again digs deep into himself, only this time he wasn’t restricted by the story developed and told over the previous three albums. With this new freedom he was able to write about whatever came to mind, with subjects ranging from intensely personal, his view of the world, mankind, and personal relationships.

“I write lyrics for myself, to get things out of my system,” says Englund. “This has been my therapy, really, for the last 25 years. I’m very certain that if we didn’t do this, I would be a much more miserable person. I’ve got to thank music for everything, especially having the outlet to write lyrics. There’s a theory that writing things to yourself is therapeutic, and I think that’s very true. The composing of the lyrics is extremely important to me; just as important as writing the music. Even more, sometimes. For me it’s like painting a picture with words. I see really clearly what it’s about; it’s a world for me.”

“Escape Of The Phoenix” will be available in various formats – from regular CD-Digipak to Ltd. vinyl (Picture, Marbled, Colored), also available as an Ltd. Artbook version (ltd. to 1000 units, 36 pages, 28x28cm incl. CD-version of the album (incl. Bonus Tracks), 7” picture vinyl single with exclusive bonus track “The Darkness In You”, exclusive and extensive photographic footage, introduction written by Tom S. Englund).  The album artwork was created by artist Giannis Nakos /Remedy Art Design

On top of that AFM Records offers a special and exclusive T-Shirt print and various shirt-bundles in the AFM online shop. Check them all out at this location

“Escape Of The Phoenix” Album Artwork

“Escape Of The Phoenix” track-list:

 1. Forever Outsider
 2. Where August Mourns
 3. Stories
 4. A Dandellion Cipher
 5. The Beholder
 6. In The Absence Of Sun
 7. Eternal Nocturnal
 8. Escape Of The Phoenix
 9. You From You
10. Leaden Saints
11. Run
12. The Darkness In You (Artbook Bonus Track)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!