EVERGREY Announces 30th-Anniversary Album, “From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Sweden’s finest export of darkness, Evergrey, will celebrate 30 years of metal mastery with a very special treat to be released via Napalm Records: an anniversary album, titled “From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits”, to be issued on December 15, 2023.

“From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits” will be available in various formats, including an extremely limited 112-page hardcover book and 1CD digisleeve bundle (including rare photos and imagery, behind the scenes stories and exclusive liner notes from the members). It wraps up three decades of Evergrey‘s journey, carries some very special treats along with it, and cements their position as one of the most genre-defining bands of our time. “From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits” unites Evergrey‘s past and present and paves the way for the band’s next chapter.

Evergrey states: “Make sure you get a hold off the limited-edition book as we have worked intensely for months to gather all the photos and write all the stories for each of the albums. It’s an insanely cool product to have and to remember all of these years together with us! Here’s to another 30!”

In addition to live versions of recent tracks like “Call Out The Dark” and “Where August Mourns”, the record travels down memory lane with “My Allied Ocean”“A Touch Of Blessing”“Recreation Day” and “King Of Errors”. The second half of the offering contains soulful piano vocal versions of four songs from the latest full-length (“Save Us”, “Call Out The Dark”, “Blindfolded” and “Midwinter Calls”), and demo versions of the same tracks, topped by a instrumental version of “A Silent Arc”.

“From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits” Album Artwork

“From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits” track-listing:

1. Call Out The Dark (Live Version)
2. Where August Mourns (Live Version)
3. My Allied Ocean (Live Version)
4. A Touch Of Blessing (Live Version)
5. Recreation Day (Live Version)
6. King Of Errors (Live Version)
7. Save Us (Piano Vocal Version)
8. Call Out The Dark (Piano Vocal Version)
9. Blindfolded (Piano Vocal Version)
10. Midwinter Calls (Piano Vocal Version)
11. A Silent Arc (Demo Version – Instrumental)
12. Save Us (Demo Version – Rough Mix)
13. Midwinter Calls (Demo Version – Rough Mix)
14. Call Out The Dark (Demo Version – Rough Mix)
15. Blindfolded (Demo Version – Rough Mix)

Pre-order “From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits” HERE.

Since their very first record, 1998’s “The Dark Discovery”, the Swedish entity led by founder, singer and guitarist Tom S. Englund — one of the most distinctive vocals in metal — has enthralled fans and critics alike with their matchless skill in merging progressive heaviness with intense melodic metal topped by gripping lyrics that run shivers down one’s spine. To date, the band has gathered numerous worldwide chart positions with 13 studio albums in total, and in 2022, the five-piece proved again — even after 30 years of existence — that their creativity sees no bounds with the release of “A Heartless Portrait (The Orphean Testament)”.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!