ENSLAVED Reveals “Homebound” Live Video From “Utgard – The Journey Within” (Cinematic Tour 2020)

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The latest chapter in Enslaved’s 30th anniversary voyage is coming to a close. Today, the Norwegian avant-gardists have released their full Cinematic Tour 2020″ live album/DVD collection, and in celebration they have premiered a live video for ‘Homebound’, the final act in this tetralogy of exquisite audiovisual performances.

‘Homebound’is a snapshot of a unique show, recorded in summer 2020 in Sotra, Norway, encompassing five tracks from Utgard”, Enslaved‘s latest studio album Utgard” saw Enslaved inhabit an esoteric space – finding themselves fueled by the pace of their black metal origins, while continuing their melodic evolution.

Iver Sandøy commented: “Ah, the live album… Some of my all time favourite albums have been concert recordings. On top of that list I’ll put Made In Japan by Deep Purple and Live After Death by Iron Maiden. As a youngster, I spent more time listening to these cassettes on my little walkman than any other album since. Both those stellar collections of career defining performances by each of those bands were, incidentally, captured for posterity by the brilliant Martin Birch. He sadly left us in August 2020, right as Enslaved were working on these virtual performances that we are now, finally, releasing properly in all the classic formats.

The classic live albums of the 70s and 80s stand as monuments to not only amazing performances by the artists, but also a celebration of the bond between them and their audiences. The parallel universe that was 2020 forced Enslaved to find other ways to honour that bond. We could not hear you scream for us from your living rooms as we performed, but these recordings stand as a testament, and indeed, a monument, to the eternal gratitude we feel towards you, our fans.”

Enslaved will be releasing four new live albums/DVDs on June 25th, with audio and visuals taken from their highly revered digital performances in 2020. 

  • “The Rise of Ymir” (Verftet Online Festival 2020) 
  • “Chronicles of the Northbound” (Cinematic Tour 2020)
  • “Below The Lights” (Cinematic Tour 2020)
  • “Utgard – The Journey Within” (Cinematic Tour 2020)

The releases will be available via the following formats: 

  • Splatter Vinyl (Ltd. edition 300 copies)
  • 4 x CD/DVD boxset (Ltd. edition 1000 copies)
  • 4 x DVD (Ltd. edition 1000 copies)
  • Digital albums

For more information on physical formats head to the By Norse Store

Physical orders can be placed here and digital orders are available here

“The Rise of Ymir” chronicles Enslaved‘s debut digital show, which took place on April 1st 2020 at USF, Bergen, as part of the Verftet Online Music Festival. 

“Chronicles of the Northbound”, Below The Lights” and Utgard – The Journey Within” detail their Cinematic Summer Tour digital shows which took place last summer. The events were collaborations with respected European festivals Roadburn, Beyond The Gates and Summer Breeze.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!