DROWNING POOL Unleash New Lyric Video For “Mind Right”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Today, Texas hard rock stalwarts DROWNING POOL have unleashed a lyric video for the heavy, hard-hitting track “Mind Right” from their new album “Strike A Nerve”, an 11-song tour-de-force through the torn and battered psyche of a band. Written and recorded before the pandemic that halted the world for more than two years, “Strike A Nerve” (T-Boy/UMe) became more poignant with its time on the shelf. The album is now available on CD, vinyl and digitally, HERE.

Watch the new lyric video for DROWNING POOL’s blistering new track “Mind Right,” below.

DROWNING POOL kicks off the second leg of their U.S. Strike A Nerve Tour today, November 4th, at Sunshine Studios Live in Colorado Springs, CO. The tour continues through the U.S. including stops in Nebraska, Wisconsin, Iowa, N. Carolina, S. Carolina, Louisiana, ending with a Texas homecoming on November 19 with a show at The Haute Spot in Cedar Park.

For tickets and more information go, HERE.

“Strike a Nerve is the most exciting and intense music from Drowning Pool to date,” said longtime DROWNING POOL guitarist CJ Pierce. “We’ve stayed true to the core sound people know from us, but we’ve taken everything we do to another level. We’ve been writing music together for over twenty years – half of that with Jasen – and this album is more refined and more true to who we are than anything we’ve done before. Sometimes it’s heavier than we’ve ever been, sometimes it’s lighter, and sometimes we go in a direction that surprises even us – but it’s always just brutally honest, and that comes through in every track.”

DROWNING POOL have long been hailed as champions of blue-collar hard rock and metal, not just because of their consistently incendiary live shows and vastly impressive catalog, but because of the trials and tribulations that have marked their career. They aren’t unique in that regard. What they are is resilient, their every-man, working-class ethos and stubborn perseverance creating a bond few bands ever realize.

“Strike A Nerve” Album Artwork

“Strike A Nerve” was inspired by wearing life’s battle scars on our sleeves. Those bumps and bruises got magnified during the worldwide COVID lockdowns; lockdowns that started mere months after DROWNING POOL completed recording, mixing and mastering “Strike A Nerve”, an 11-song tour-de-force through the torn and battered psyche of a band. Written and recorded before the pandemic that halted the world in its tracks for more than two years, “Strike A Nerve” became more poignant with its time on the shelf.

“Strike A Nerve” track-listing:

1. Doing Time In Hell
2. Hate Against Hate
3. Stay And Bleed 
4. Strike A Nerve 
5. Racing To A Red Light
6. Choke
7. Everything But You
8. Down In The Dirt
9. Rope
10. A Devil More Damned 
11. Mind Right

The title track and “Racing To A Red Light” are mid-tempo burners like we haven’t heard from DROWNING POOL before, the band’s heightened sense of melody coupling with white hot hooks and irresistible choruses. “Can you hear an empty stage, can you hear tomorrow rage… I can’t go forward because I can’t be heard,” Moreno testifies on “Strike A Nerve” – again, a song written and recorded years before the world careened into its current state. “Stay And Bleed” and “Down In The Dirt” are instant DROWNING POOL classics, their punishing grooves making the jarring and somber ballad “Everything But You” even more impactful: “I hate everyone and everything, but you…” From the softest song the band has ever recorded, to their heaviest in album closer “Mind Right,” an homage to their hometown friends and brothers Pantera.

Formed by Pierce, Benton and Luce in Dallas, TX in 1996, DROWNING POOL began as an instrumental trio, named after the 1975 film The Drowning Pool. The group enlisted singer Dave Williams to join their fold three years later and the band signed with Wind-up Records which released “Sinner” in 2001. Williams died tragically on tour August 14, 2002, stricken by hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, an un-diagnosed heart condition. “Sinner” stands as his only studio album with DROWNING POOL .

DROWNING POOL is Jasen Moreno (Vocals), CJ Pierce (Guitar), Stevie Benton (Bass), and Mike Luce (Drums).


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!