DIMMU BORGIR To Release Covers Album “Inspiratio Profanus”, Listen To Rendition Of VENOM’s ‘Black Metal’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

After their last two successful albums “Abrahadabra” and “Eonian”, Norwegian black metallers Dimmu Borgir herald their 30-year legacy by releasing, together for the first time, a collection of their cover songs. The album “Inspiratio Profanus” is being announced with the arrival of the thunderous first single, “Black Metal”, a rendition of the well-known track by extreme metal pioneers Venom.

“Inspiratio Profanus” will be made available on December 8 via Nuclear Blast Records, and you can pre-order it HERE.

Dimmu Borgir guitarist Sven Atle Kopperud (a.k.a. Silenoz) comments: “We’re pleased to announce the ‘Inspiratio Profanus’ release! We thought it was about time to finally compile the cover songs we’ve done over the years and give these renditions an updated mastering, all in one package, highlighting some of our many influences!”

‘Black Metal’, the track and its origin, features something really primeval, raw and unhinged. There is lawlessness and danger connected to it. We did our best to capture the spirit of the ancient gods’ rock ‘n’ roll 24 years later. Did we do it justice? I think so.”

“Inspiratio Profanus” also features the genre-defining “Perfect Strangers” (Deep Purple),fan favorite “Burn In Hell” (Twisted Sister),and electrifying renditions from the legendary Celtic Frost, as well as other immensely influential artists.

“Inspiratio Profanus” track listing:

1. Black Metal (Venom)
2. Satan My Master (Bathory)
3. Dead Men Don’t Rape (G.G.F.H.)
4. Nocturnal Fear (Celtic Frost)
5. Burn In Hell (Twisted Sister)
6. Perfect Strangers (Deep Purple)
7. Metal Heart (Accept)
8. Nocturnal Fear (Celtically Processed) (Celtic Frost)


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!