DIETH – Featuring David Ellefson – to Release New Album “To Hell And Back” on June 2 💣

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

DIETH, the new band featuring former MEGADETH bassist David Ellefson, Swedish guitarist/vocalist Guilherme Miranda (formerly of ENTOMBED A.D.) and drummer Michał Łysejko (ex-DECAPITATED), will release its debut album, “To Hell And Back”, on June 2 via Napalm Records.

Produced by DIETH, with mixing and mastering by Tomasz Zed Zalewski at Zed Studios in Chechło, Poland, the LP represents new beginnings — musically, lyrically and for the band members themselves. Weaving a sinister thread of unrelenting tech-steeped death metal, rapid thrash bangers and even boasting the first-ever lead vocal performance by Ellefson on a track, the members of DIETH have pushed beyond the stereotypes of their former genres to create an unexpected yet charismatic and dynamic new sonic footprint.

DIETH has just dropped the second single and title track, “To Hell And Back”. The song delivers a punishing death metal attack — with commanding vocals, tight, diverse percussion attacks, deep, grooving bass, inventive, technical riffs and a soaring solo. The high-quality video shows the members pushing back against the dark forces around them, one by one, amid fiery performance footage.

Pre-order HERE.

Miranda says about “To Hell And Back”: “‘To Hell And Back’ is the song that best describes our individual and collective journeys as professional musicians. For an album to connect with the listener, it has to have deep meaning, and this wraps up this whole moment for us. We’ve been to hell — and we’re back!”

DIETH dropped its debut single, “In The Hall Of The Hanging Serpents”, in mid-2022. Met with acclaim from both fans and media alike, the surprise track marked the exciting resurgence of these three renowned musicians, coming together as a new musical force after years of silence.

Opening with an entrancing acoustic introduction, first track “To Hell And Back” quickly slams in with a punishing death metal attack. Tracks like “Dead Inside” and Don’t Get Mad … Get Even!” showcase the thrash-infused side of DIETH, while death metal anthems such as “Wicked Disdain” and “The Mark Of Cain” lean diabolical with hair-raising solos and breakneck paced rhythms backed by crushing walls of aggression. Standout “Free Us All” flirts with the record’s pace by blending winding passages and aggression with throwback bass-driven interludes with psychedelic production, followed by “Heavy Is The Crown” — a slow-and-low grinder featuring stoner metal groove, a swaying chorus and a blues-infused solo. Pensive, powerful ballad “Walk With Me Forever” showcases Ellefson‘s lead vocal performance debut, singing about the intense loss of a loved one and their memory providing the strength to carry on.

Ending with intensely beautiful “Severance”, “To Hell And Back” proves that DIETH isn’t just another side project or “super-group”, but rather the collective reincarnation of three renowned heavy metal forces who, by harnessing their own pain and conflict, have delivered an exciting next chapter no metal fan will want to miss!

Ellefson says about the new album: “This album has been a terrific collaboration, building upon our past as we created a new sound together… we’re looking forward to unleashing the fury!”

“To Hell And Back” Artwork

“To Hell And Back” track listing:

 1. To Hell And Back
 2. Don’t Get Mad … Get Even!
 3. Wicked Disdain
 4. Free Us All
 5. Heavy Is The Crown
 6. Walk With Me Forever
 7. Dead Inside
 8. The Mark Of Cain
 9. In The Hall Of The Hanging Serpents
10. Severance

Upcoming DIETH shows:

June 15-18 – BE, Dessel – Graspop Metal Festival
July 6-8 – CZ, Velke Mezirici – Fajtfest
Aug. 3-5 – PT, Vagos – Vagos Metal Fest
Aug. 20 – FR, Carhaix – Motorcultor Festival


  • Guilherme Miranda / Vocals, Guitar
  • David Ellefson / Vocals, Bass
  • Michał Łysejko / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!