Symphonic Metal Veterans DELAIN Release New Single ‘Queen Of Shadow’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

DELAIN has released a new single, “Queen Of Shadow”. The song is taken from the band’s upcoming album, “Dark Waters”, which will arrive on February 10 via Napalm Records.

“Queen Of Shadow” merges the orchestral and synth-focused soundscapes DELAIN is known for. It weaves melodic heavy guitars that intertwine with orchestral lines and vocal melodies, marking another powerful example of the fresh new sound that presents the crystal-clear voice of frontwoman Diana Leah — shining bright like the early morning sun of a yet untouched day. Supported by guest vocalist Paolo Ribaldini and instrumental expertise, the song displays all aspects and colors of their multifaceted spectrum — ranging from pop, to film score-inspired, to blistering, room shaking metal.

Keyboardist, founder and main songwriter Martijn Westerholt comments on “Queen Of Shadow”: “‘Queen Of Shadow’ is a classic example of pure DELAIN style. Musically, it has some really awesome things going on such as harmonic guitars and catchy melodies which are complemented by both the alluring and powerhouse vocals of Diana and our guest singer Paolo.”

Pre-order “Dark Waters” HERE

Along with Martijn Westerholt, original guitarist Ronald Landa and original drummer Sander Zoer bolster DELAIN’s continuity, while new members – Diana Leah and bassist Ludovico Cioffi – continue to evolve their sound. Songs like the aforementioned standalone single, as well as “The Cold” (the latter featuring a real, epic choir), lure with a bombastic sound that skillfully combines orchestral melodies, epic heavy riffs and marvelous vocal performances. DELAIN magnificently manages to never lose touch with their characteristic sound, making them a constant without ever standing still.

Pop-induced opening track “Hideaway Paradise” shows exactly that by inducing a dream-like feeling flirting with melodic metal guitars, while the ballad-like dark track “Mirror of Night”, featuring Within Temptation guitarist Ruud Jolie, entices the listener with unfathomably catchy lines and melodies. “Queen of Shadow” merges the orchestral and synth-focused soundscapes DELAIN is known for as it weaves melodic heavy guitars that intertwine with orchestral lines and vocal melodies. “Tainted Hearts” is centered around Westerholt‘s keyboard arrangements, which skillfully showcase the creative roots of the mastermind. “Invictus” is nothing less than the magnum opus of the album – a rock opera in its own right with heavy riffing, choirs and vocal parts performed by Diana Leah, Paolo Ribaldini and Marko Hietala (ex-Nightwish), ending in a bombastic climax where everything comes together. 

“Beneath” Single Artwork

Martijn Westerholt adds: “This album captures all elements DELAIN is known for – our distinctive heavy guitar riffs, massive orchestral parts, both heavy metal and pop vocals, rock opera vibes along with 80s synth sounds.  In short, this is definitely a recognizable DELAIN album that contains classic ‘DELAIN elements’ while also moving forward with fresh influences.”

DELAIN have been sharing their signature catchy melodic sound worldwide for over two decades now! Enchanting fans with their most famous hits like “We Are the Others” or “April Rain”, the rockers gained millions of Spotify streams and video views.

With six albums already under their belt, DELAIN charted multiple times with well-known records like “Apocalypse & Chill” and “Hunter’s Moon”. The band traveled around the globe with acts like Sabaton, Nightwish and Within Temptation, topped by various shows at the biggest European festivals like Wacken, Graspop, Download and many more. Without any doubt, DELAIN have carved their name in the scene and are ready to start this exciting next voyage.

“Dark Waters” Track List:

1.    Hideaway Paradise
2.    The Quest and the Curse
3.    Beneath
4.    Mirror of Night
5.    Tainted Hearts
6.    The Cold
7.    Moth to a Flame
8.    Queen of Shadow
9.    Invictus
10. Underland

“Dark Waters” Album Artwork

“Dark Waters” will be available in the following formats:

  • 2-LP Gatefold BLACK
  • 2-CD Digisleeve + Shirt Bundle (Napalm Shop only)
  • 2-LP Gatefold Marbled Blue/Black/White – limited to 300 copies worldwide (Napalm Shop only)
  • Wooden Boxset incl. Digisleeve 2CDs (Regular Album + Instrumental Album), 1-CD Slipcase with Orchestral Album, Coasters (6pcs), Flag, Band Picture Postcard – limited to 500 copies worldwide (Napalm Shop only)
  • Digital Album


  • Martijn Westerholt / Keyboards
  • Diana Leah  / Vocals
  • Ronald Landa / Guitars and backing vocals
  • Ludovico Cioffi  / Bass and backing vocals
  • Sander Zoer  / Drums

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!