DEF LEPPARD to Release “Drastic Symphonies” Album with ROYAL PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

May 2023 will see rock and classical royalty unite on a brand-new euphoric album titled “Drastic Symphonies”DEF LEPPARD‘s greatest produced tracks dramatically re-imagined and sounding larger and more exhilarating than ever before, teamed with London’s iconic Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

DEF LEPPARD have deconstructed and rebuilt not only some of their most well-known tracks but also some of their hidden gems as well. By and large, they have intertwined the audio from the original tapes and performed them alongside the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. The album includes new vocals and guitars which culminates in stunningly beautiful symphonic arrangements. At different points you can hear vocalist Joe Elliott dueting with his younger self.

Elliott says: DEF LEPPARD has always enjoyed veering off the expected path — working with the likes of Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift and Alison Krauss, for example. So, when the offer to revisit some of our back catalogue with the Royal Philharmonic was presented to us, to a man we all jumped at it. Although we’re far from the first band to ever do this, working directly with an orchestra at Abbey Road on some of our more orchestrated songs seemed too good of an opportunity to pass up.”

This album represents a bold new approach to DEF LEPPARD‘s most loved songs.

The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra was recorded at Abbey Road in March 2022. Produced by DEF LEPPARD, Ronan McHugh and Nick Patrick (producer of the following RPO/orchestral albums — Elvis, Roy Orbison, BEACH BOYS and Buddy Holly) with arrangements by Eric Gorfain (Neil Diamond, Ryan Adams, Christina Aguilera).

DEF LEPPARD guitarist Phil Collen says: “When the offer of doing an orchestral album with the RPO was suggested, we were honored. But we didn’t just want an orchestra plonked over our previous recordings. We decided to create something special where we would have something classic but present it in a brand new way that would involve making everything work in the context of ‘Drastic Symphonies’. Recording new parts, remixing previous sounds, taking some of our instruments out so the orchestra could breathe and literally making a new album. It was an amazingly inspirational process culminating in the live recording of the RPO at Abbey Road studios in London. An absolute team effort that took a good part of a year. It’s a new DEF LEPPARD album, it’s a greatest-hits-plus album, with some rarely heard songs, it’s a live RPO album and we think it’s perfect. We’re so proud of how ‘Drastic Symphonies’ turned out and can’t wait to share it to the world.”

“Drastic Symphonies” Artwork

“Drastic Symphonies” Track listing:

 1. Turn To Dust
 2. Paper Sun
 3. Animal
 4. Pour Some Sugar On Me (Stripped Version)
 5. Hysteria
 6. Love Bites
 7. Goodbye For Good This Time
 8. Love
 9. Gods Of War
10. Angels (Can’t Help You Now)
11. Bringin’ On The Heartbreak
12. Switch 625
13. Too Late For Love
14. When Love & Hate Collide
15. Kings Of The World

Atmos version will also feature a bonus track.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!