Dark Metal Masters MOONSPELL Announce ‘American Full Moon’ North American Tour

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Portuguese dark metal phenoms MOONSPELL will at long last make their return to North America. Originally planned for last year, the band is bringing their “American Full Moon” 30th Anniversary tour to the US and Canada – celebrating three decades of evocative and mesmerizing artistry. Direct support on the tour comes from Eleine, with Oceans of Slumber and Vintersea (select dates) rounding out the bill. The upcoming trek kicks off in Brooklyn, NY on April 29, and concludes in Boston, MA on May 23.

Commenting on the band’s return to North America, lead vocalist Fernando Ribeiro says: “Touring North America and Canada made us a stronger band on stage and we’ve learnt a lot about music, fans and hard-work overseas. We see this 30 years tour as an opportunity to repay all the amazing fans over there who don’t get to see enough of us or hear enough of our music. We’re so proud we could bounce back from hardship and book this tour alongside the amazingly beautiful bands Eleine, Oceans of Slumber and Vintersea and can’t wait see you, under the spell!!!”

MOONSPELL recently commemorated 30 years as a band with the release of the BluRay/DVD live album “From Down Below – Live 80 Meters Deep”, filmed at Grutas de Mira D’Aire, one of Portugal’s seven natural wonders. The recording boasts a one-of-a-kind sound and visual sensation with its heavy dose of cinematic flavor, unreal atmosphere and the encircling, resounding nature in its raw form, while showcasing MOONSPELL’s much acclaimed album Hermitage at its primal best, live from inside one of the most impressive caves in Europe.

“While the world agonized at home, we went deep down below, to a cave to record a DVD with some of our bravest fans watching it,” Ribeiro adds. From Down Below is also a documentation of the hard times we lived during the pandemic with the mask mandate and social distance. Curiously, to all of us that night at the cave, it seemed that we could breathe fresher air than at the surface. That’s the power of music, to travel beyond our afflictions and that’s the message of the title song, ‘Hermitage (Live 80 Meters Deep)’ we now present to our beloved pack, on our way to better days.””

“From Down Below – Live 80 Meters Deep” is not only an epic live momentum of “Hermitage” — one of the deepest, heaviest and most sincerely heart-breaking records the band has ever written — but a truly revolutionary experience, as MOONSPELL brought along a select number of fans and a production team (literally) underground. Brilliantly directed by Guilherme Henrique, “From Down Below – Live 80 Meters Deep” is something truly special that you have never, ever seen or heard before.

“From Down Below – Live 80 Meters Deep” track listing:

 1. The Greater Good
 2. Common Prayers
 3. All or Nothing
 4. Hermitage
 5. Entitlement
 6. Solitarian
 7. The Hermit Saints
 8. Apophthegmata
 9. Without Rule
10. The Great Leap Forward

“From Down Below – Live 80 Meters Deep” is available in the following formats:

  • BD/DVD Digipak incl. 2xDVD, 1xBluRay, 1xCD (plus a lot of bonus material!)     
  • 2 LP Gatefold BLACK         
  • 2 LP Gatefold MARBLED WHITE/BLACK incl. Poster
  • Earbook incl. 2xDVD/1xBluRay
  • -Digital Album

Order “From Down Below – Live 80 Meters Deep” HERE!

MOONSPELL‘s 13th studio album, “Hermitage”, was released in February 2021 via Napalm Records. The LP was recorded, mixed and mastered by Jaime Gomez Arellano (PARADISE LOST, PRIMORDIAL, GHOST, SÓLSTAFIR) at the Orgone Studios in the U.K.

In 2020, MOONSPELL parted ways with original drummer Miguel “Mike” Gaspar and replaced him with Hugo Ribeiro (no relation to Fernando Ribeiro). MOONSPELL will embark on a North American tour next month. Support on the trek, which will kick off on August 25 in New York and end on September 18 in Boston, will come from SWALLOW THE SUN and WITHERFALL.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!