CRYPTOPSY Announces New Album “As Gomorrah Burns,” Watch New Single/Video For “In Abeyance”

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Canadian kings of technical death metal CRYPTOPSY have announced their return with, “As Gomorrah Burns,” their first full-length album in over a decade due out September 8th from Nuclear Blast Records. The groundbreaking, extreme metal foursome emerge renewed and as vital as ever on their massively anticipated album, which continues their trailblazing path of sonic exploration and exceptionally complex songwriting, for one of their most tumultuous albums yet.

Commenting on the impending record, vocalist Matt McGachy says: “I’m excited to finally unveil ‘As Gomorrah Burns.’ It’s an album that we have been crafting for the past five years. A meticulous endeavor that we are proud of. It’s the perfect medley of oldschool Cryptopsy with a few modern twists. We’ve leaned heavily into the grooves and let some of the riffs breathe just a little more than we have on the past few releases.  I’m really stoked about the new era of CRYPTOPSY

Today, CRYPTOPSY has unchained the record’s first single, “In Abeyance,” and accompanying video for which was directed by Chris Kells (The Agonist, Beneath The Massacre). Watch it below.

McGachy adds about the new single: “‘In Abeyance’ is conceptually about feeling isolated while being submerged in a new environment. The hunt for a sense of belonging while mourning a previous life. Musically, it’s a slap in the face. It’s a banger that appears to be straightforward yet remains ultra complex.

Pre-order “As Gomorrah Burns” and stream “In Abeyance” HERE.

As Gomorrah Burns” Track-listing:

    1. Lascivious Undivine
    2. In Abeyance
    3. Godless Deceiver
    4. Ill Ender
  1. Flayed The Swine
  2. The Righteous Lost
  3. Obeisant
  4. Praise The Filth

“As Gomorrah Burns”

Death metal juggernaut CRYPTOPSY return to pummel our collective senses anew with their new album, “As Gomorrah Burns.” Their first for Nuclear Blast, the Montreal-based quartet—featuring founding member/drummer Flo Mounier, guitarist Christian Donaldson, vocalist Matt McGachy, and bassist Olivier “Oli” Pinard—advance their signature Northern power as they celebrate 30-plus years of extremity. The merciless blasts of “Lascivious Undivine” and “Flayed the Swine” offer CRYPTOPSY at their most intense and maniacal, while “In Abeyance” and “The Righteous Lost” groove savagely. “As Gomorrah Burns” underscores the animus of fan-favorite “None So Vile” (1996) and the meticulous technicality of “And Then You’ll Beg” (2000) with a strikingly sinister vibe.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!