CHARLOTTE WESSELS (Ex-DELAIN) Releases Profound New Single “Toxic” And Lyric Video

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Former DELAIN vocalist/composer Charlotte Wessels continues her successful solo journey by unveiling the new album, “Tales From Six Feet Under Vol II,” out October 7, 2022, via Napalm Records. After embarking on this adventurous ride with her enchanting compilation record, “Tales From Six Feet Under” (2021), the upcoming endeavor marks the next proof of Wessels‘ multifaceted nature and wide artistic range that is deeply supported by fans and critics alike.

 Charlotte Wessels has released today another new single, the profound “Toxic.” Within this immersive piece of rock, pop, metal and beyond, Charlotte‘s artistic talent shows no limits on “Tales From Six Feet Under Vol II.” Carefully crafting lyrics, instrumentals, vocals and even mastering production, her artistic and intellectual sophistication is beyond compare. Besides her own prominent creative impact, the album also features delicate guitar work by Delain ex-band colleague Timo Somers.

It might be easy to get lulled into a false sense of security by the relaxed opening beat of her latest single, but do not be fooled: Charlotte takes no prisoners on “Toxic”. The track starts with suspenseful, magical sounds that, together with challenging lyrics, offer a perfect symbiosis. The ambient sounds are completed with hard guitar riffs and growling screams. Staying true to her metal origin, Charlotte proves once again that she does not care for limitations. Effortlessly, she combines various genres making versatility her trademark as she introduces an atmospheric sound with explosive potential.

Wessels says about “Toxic”:‘Toxic’ is a direct response to the populism, greed, misogyny and victim blaming that come screaming from our screens on a daily basis, and with the recent overturning of Roe vs Wade, it has sadly become only more relevant since its initial release on Patreon. I hope you like the song but I mostly hope the issues it deals with will be a thing of the past before I am.”

Watch the video below.

As on the previous album, instruments and vocals were performed/programmed and produced by Wessels herself in her very own Six Feet Under Studio. On the exciting new offering, her styles range from melancholic alt-pop to synth-infused rock and connect atmospheric elements with harder sounds, crossing genre boundaries with ease.

Charlotte Wessels states: “Since May 2020, I’ve been writing and recording a new song every month down in my basement “Six Feet Under Studio”, fueled by – and released to – my tight-knit Patreon community. This album wouldn’t be there without them. I’m excited to team up with Napalm Records again to release a new collection of these tracks with a wider audience.

“With “Tales From Six Feet Under”, I released my favorite tracks of the first year of this endeavor onto the world in 2021, and “Tales From Six Feet Under Vol II” is its counterpart, with my favorite tracks from the second year. There are definitely differences between the two, with the second leaning more towards the heavier side, but they do belong together.”

“Together they represent a time of introspection and solitary songwriting in the basement. A time that has taught me a lot and has been very meaningful to me, but also a time that, as I started this project in the middle of Covid quarantine, has already – thankfully – started changing. Not because I won’t be writing and recording Six Feet Under anymore, but because as the world is opening up again, I too will come out of the basement and out of my shell again with live concerts, and collaborations are on the horizon.”

Pre-order “Tales From Six Feet Under Vol II” NOW

 Starting with the captivating synth-flavored track “Venus Rising”, Charlotte Wessels’ lures the listener into her multifaceted world of sound to be spellbound within the blink of an eye. Following “Human To Ruin” mesmerizes with a sweet melody that breaks into a propelling metal track, where calmer parts alter with powerful break outs. Wessels releases her power on other commanding tracks like “The Phantom Touch” and “Good Dog”, while on “The Final Roadtrip”, she presents the full range of her vocal prowess atop carefully balanced electronic beats and indie soundscapes. “Toxic” comes with an obscure, captivating whispering sound that turns into a strong sonic wall, as the album then fades out with the honest atmospheric gems “I Forget” featuring a cello performance by Elianne Anemaat, and “Utopia”.

This eclectic wealth of songs proves Wessels’ exceptional ability to express the sincerest feelings and emotions within her art and her distinct intuition for the combination of seemingly different genres. “Tales From Six Feet Under Vol II” is an enchanting portent of Charlotte Wessels’ further multifaceted endeavors.

“Tales From Six Feet Under Vol II” track listing:

  1. Venus Rising
  2. Human To Ruin
  3. The Phantom Touch
  4. Against All Odds
  5. A Million Lives
  6. The Final Roadtrip
  7. Good Dog
  8. Toxic
  9. I Forget
  10. Utopia

Bewitching “Tales From Six Feet Under Vol II” will be available as 1LP Vinyl Gold, 1LP Vinyl Recycled Black, 1LP Vinyl Recycled Color (Patreon exclusive) as well as on all digital platforms. Moreover, fans will get a combined 2CD Digisleeve that also includes WESSELS‘s exciting first solo offering “Tales From Six Feet Under Vol I”, which will be released on CD for the first time now! With this eclectic wealth of songs, she debuts a song in her native language with Dutch rocker “Afkicken”. For this occasion, Charlotte Wessels recently presented a breathtaking full production, cinematic music video. Re-watch this breathtaking work of art below.


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!