BURNING THE OPPRESSOR Share Powerful “Martyrize” Video

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Canadian death metal quintet Burning The Oppressor have released new single “Martyrize,” the second track taken from their upcoming album “Damnation”, out October 29 via Candlelight Records. The powerful song tackles the issue of domestic abuse. Watch it below.

Due to the subject matter, this video content may be triggering to some. Viewer discretion is advised.

 “‘Martyrize’ was written, a few years ago, in a surge of anger and incomprehension after news broke out of abuse suffered by a seven-year-old girl at the hands of her father and stepmother in the eastern townships, Quebec,” the band says. “The circumstances of her death sent a shockwave through Canada and authorities ordered a public inquiry to shed light on how child protective services could have failed so miserably, in this particular case, even though they were apprised of the situation well before her death.”

The band continues, “During the last year, the number of cases of infanticide and feminicide have also, unfortunately, been on the rise — no doubt emphasized by the current pandemic. Reports of domestic violence have skyrocketed in the past year-and-a-half, and we felt it was important for us to try and bring attention to these tragic situations without romanticizing the suffering of their victims.”

Pre-order “Damnation” here.

Burning The Oppressor was founded in 2012 by passionate musicians with different influences and armed with remarkable stage dynamism. With intense texts and brutal riffs, Burning The Oppressor puts into words and sounds the trials of modern life and the sufferings of a society in turmoil. Militant in favor of social equity and the inclusion of all people, the band denounces discrimination and oppression through its work.

Strong from their experiences and numerous performances, from the early days at the Montebello Rockfest Festival to the latter days at Heavy Montréal Festival, Burning The Oppressor‘s reputation is now stronger than ever. The name still resonates in the minds of all of those who have seen them live. The band has taken the metal scene with strength and burned down each and every venue it has performed at. It proudly shared the stage alongside great bands such as Skeletonwitch, Mass Hysteria, Tagada Jones, The Agonist, Beyond Creation, Jungle Rot, The Browning, The Acacia Strain, After the Burial, The Black Dahlia Murder, and Jinjer.

Burning The Oppressor also left its mark with its three previous albums: The Ignition” (2012), Verbal Aggressor” (2013), and Bloodshed” (2017). Each of these albums were nominated for “Best Independent Metal Album” at GAMIQ Awards and Bloodshed won the public’s choice award for the “Metal Album Of The Year” in 2017.

“Damnation” Album Artwork

With their forthcoming album, Burning The Oppressor will raise the rage to new heights and pursue its ascent on the metal scene. Armed with its groove death metal, the Canadian lineup is ready to rip your ears apart with blistering, yet catchy riffs, energy and passion.

“Damnation” track-listing:

  1. Cannibal K
  2. The Oppressor
  3. Martyrize
  4. Black Eye
  5. Wrongdoers Of The Seas
  6. Crackhead
  7. Damnation
  8. Darkest Moonlight
  9. Seven Generations Raped
  10. Infamous Human Beast
  11. Insanity
  12. Warrior (Feat. Simon Girard)

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!