AT THE GATES Shares Music Video For New Song ‘The Fall Into Time’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES have released the third single off their upcoming album, “The Nightmare Of Being”, which will arrive on July 2 via Century Media Records. The music video for the track “The Fall Into Time”, directed by longtime AT THE GATES collaborator Costin Chioreanu of Twilight13Media (ARCH ENEMYGRAVEBORKNAGAR), can be seen below.

AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg commented: “Hello everybody! As you might have already guessed, this album is our most ambitious effort yet, including a lot of different orchestrations and new takes on arrangements, etc. This track, ‘The Fall Into Time’ is one of the centerpieces of the album. It is big, demanding and epic. We have always found it intriguing to compose songs like these — think ‘Neverwhere’‘Primal Breath’‘The Night Eternal’ and ‘Daggers Of Black Haze’. It is heavy, mean and dark as well as almost cinematic in its thematic approach. I have always said that the AT THE GATES listener wants to be challenged and that you hopefully all are as curious as we are when it comes to exploring new musical territory. This song is one of those moments… Enjoy!”

While main parts for “The Nightmare Of Being” were recorded in several different Swedish studios (drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg), the album was mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (Amon Amarth, Opeth, Kreator, etc.) by Jens Bogren, who previously worked with AT THE GATES on their 2014 comeback album “At War With Reality.‘ The album’s visual concept and album cover was developed by artist Eva Nahon.

The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative,” states AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant about the album concept.

Musically “The Nightmare Of Being” unveils a newly liberated and adventurous AT THE GATES with some of the bravest and most mesmerizing material they have ever written. Lindberg Redant adds, “It still sounds like AT THE GATES, 100 percent. It is just more of everything.”

‘The Nightmare of Being’ tracklist; 

  1. Spectre of Extinction
  2. The Paradox
  3. The Nightmare of Being
  4. Garden of Cyrus
  5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
  6. The Fall into Time
  7. Cult of Salvation
  8. The Abstract Enthroned
  9. Cosmic Pessimism
  10. Eternal Winter of Reason

Pre-order the album at this location.


  • Adrian Erlandsson / Drums
  • Jonas Björler / Bass
  • Tomas Lindberg / Vocals
  • Jonas Stålhammar / Guitar
  • Martin Larsson / Guitar


Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!