ABYSMAL DAWN’s “Nightmare Frontier” EP Due In February; ‘A Nightmare Slain’ Music Video Revealed

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Los Angeles death metal titans Abysmal Dawn will be releasing a new EP “Nightmare Frontier” on February 4 via Season of Mist. In conjunction with the release, the band is now sharing their brand new single, “A Nightmare Slain”, along with a music video that was created by Guilherme Henriques. Watch the video below.

Abysmal Dawn front-man/founding member Charles Elliott comments, “The music for this track was recorded for “Phylogenesis,” but we left it off the record. We thought it was a great song but we felt it didn’t quite fit into the flow of that album. The music shows a bit more of a slightly progressive and melodic side of the band, which we may explore more in the future. The lyrics were written during the pandemic and are inspired by the lore of the video game Bloodborne.

“Now, we have a lot of songs filled with social commentary and introspective lyrics. When it came time to write the words for this one, I don’t think I could bring myself to focus any more on the misery or subjugation that we live in our day to day lives. Who needs another song of ‘COVID’ drivel or divisive politics at this point? Hopefully we can all agree on what I discovered while I was trapped at home for over a year; ‘Bloodborne’ is one of the greatest video games ever made. Animal Crossing and Mario Party fans should definitely check it out, along with the rest of the ‘soulsborne’ genre for a stress free good time… We hope you enjoy our song inspired by one of the most metal games ever made. Enjoy and see you on tour!”

Pre-orders for “Nightmare Frontier” are now live here, as well as from their official Abysmal Dawn online store here. The single and EP can be pre-saved across all streaming services here.

“Nightmare Frontier” EP Artwork

“Nightmare Frontier” was mixed and mastered by Charles Elliott at Tastemaker Audio. Drums were engineered by John Haddad at Trench Studios, while tracking for all instruments was handled by Elliott. The artwork for “Nightmare Frontier” was created by Par Olofson.

“Nightmare Frontier” Tracklist:

1. A Nightmare Slain (4:43)
2. Blacken The Sky (4:15)
3. Behind Space (3:37)
4. Bewitched (6:43)

Moreover, ABYSMAL DAWN will be embarking on an extensive North American tour as direct support for OBSCURA at the start of next year! The trek will kick off in San Diego, CA on February 3 and will conclude on March 23 in Fresno, CA. Tickets are on sale now.


  • Charles Elliott / Guitars, vocals
  • Eliseo Garcia / Bass, additional vocals
  • James Coppolino / Drums
  • Vito Petroni / Guitars

Comments are closed.

error: This content is copyrighted!